Lightweight AWD Sportscar

designerguy

10 mW
I’ve just started on the design and development of my own personal project car. I have been a long time reader of these forums, constantly inspired by all the collaborative development that happens.

Some background:

By trade I am an automotive exterior designer. I work at a one of the big 3. Last year I sold my personal car as I hadn’t used it in over a year, I had been walking to work. A week later I was told my job was moving and suddenly my commute got quite a bit longer. I started looking into buying another car, being a designer I wanted something special (read: AM V8 Vantage, Lotus Elise, Lotus Evora.) It’s winter here currently in Michigan, and dealers aren’t too keen on me test driving their sports cars in the snow. That’s when my brilliant (stupid) idea came to design and build my own car.

So I decided to jump head first off of the development and financial cliff.

The Idea:

600kg
180kw
Individual wheel motors with belt reduction
Low Cd (~0.2)
Low frontal area (~1.5 m^2)
Smallish battery pack with high charge rate (19kw LTO)

My bad influences:

Palatov Motorsports
Formula SAE
larsb motor remake
Every Lebowski controller thread
Farfle/Miles various motor projects

So far I have bought the batteries and motor stators to help characterise the rest of the car around it. I contacted Alexey from Revolt who sent 360mm of RV 160 stators. That will make 4 90mm stacks, one for each motor. This should be good for ~130 Nm per motor, with a 4:1 reduction ratio that’s 520Nm per wheel (1.2 g acceleration!)

Things to do from easiest to hardest:

Exterior
Chassis and suspension
Motor mechanical
Motor electrical
Motor Controllers
High amp BMS
High power battery charger
Make it all work

I will be making threads for the motor and controller seperately.

Will you be trying for regen or eabs braking, with that belt reduction?

Any concepts for the body yet, beyond the mentioned models?