Young and lost... but excited to learn! (EBoard checking in)

Lightweight / Folding / Portable EVs - seats optional

Young and lost... but excited to learn! (EBoard checking in)

Postby sk8gineer » Sat Apr 27, 2013 11:45 am

Hi there! I just found this forum while doing a little research on a work on EV for my university (I am in my 2nd year of Electrical Engineering and I just realised that I haven't learned many things about the real world...)

Here's what I'd like to create:

-Electric Board
-Powered by a single BLDC motor
-30km/h of average speed (without stress on the motor)
-45km/h max
-8km at average speed will be more than fine
-6kg maximum wheight (13.2 Ib)

I want it as a substitute for my car in a daily commute of less than 4km (2+2).

I'd like to control it with something like the wii nunchuck (any tips on this, right now I am pretty lost!)

First of all i'd like to buy the motor, ESC (what kind?), batteries to see if I can make em work... so please, I need tips on, given my necesities, I can base the criteria to pick the stuff.

*Motor - 30km/h as average speed without burning it
*Batteries - 4km distance
*ESC - Compatible with the aforementione and is it connected with the controller (R/C or wii in this case?)
*Other stuff you think I'd need for prepearing the setup off the board

What else do I need to see if I am capable of controlling (with switching it on I'd be satisfied ahaha) the motor? I don't have anything right now so... the motor, battery pack, ESC, controller (wii nunchuck?) and a charger?

I feel kind of bad for coming here and asking all this (below)entry-level stuff, but I've been exploring the forum for some days and I feel overwhelmed by the amount of info and things you have to take into consideration :( but sooner or later I know I'll be able to put it into practice!