So I bought a lathe...and made Hub Motors

LEVer

10 kW
...and decided to make me some hub moterzzz! :twisted:

Hub Motor 3.jpg
Hub Motor 2.jpg
Hub Motor.jpg

It's not the prettiest, but its my first try. Learned so much.

First, the screws that holds the fan to the rotor are a PITA to remove, even when using the right screwdriver. I stripped almost all of them, had to extract them out and rethread the holes.
The bearing tube is another doozy. Even after heating it up for 45 mins, it won't come off. I finally just drilled it out but its scary because the bit is so close to the windings.
I also should have used a smaller-diameter hole saw to remove the hub first, and then the right size forstner bit to bore the wheel. Using just the forstner bit to cut the hub made it dull easily.

I'm just waiting for the 3M epoxy and the 14mm bit to drill a bearing seat on the top of the can. BTW, if you guys want me to make some for you, check out my for sale thread: http://endless-sphere.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=31&t=68581&p=1034199#p1034199

I'll first try them out with my Skyrc ESC, then use VESC on them. 8)

Eh...I haven't ridden them yet. I reckon it'll be fast.

I did turn down the Paris. If you look closer, you'll actually see a gap where I messed it up. :mrgreen:

Wheel is epoxied on the motors. If you want to change the wheels, give em back to me and i'll put them on the lathe to remove them. Old wheel will be destroyed though. :(

Is it possible for you to post a picture of the truck without the motor attached? Im kind of having a hard time visualizing whether you shaved the truck to attach the motor or there was nearly no modification needed.

fantastic. although every time someone makes a successful hub motor I die a little death wishing it was me :twisted:

and this is like stylz right and you used everything from the motor but the bearing tube and axle?