Remove speed limit from step

Lightweight / Folding / Portable EVs - seats optional
Elbobbah
1 mW
1 mW
Posts: 16
Joined: Oct 28, 2017 12:42 pm

Remove speed limit from step

Post by Elbobbah » Oct 28, 2017 12:47 pm

Hi,

I bought a stand-up scooter. It is going ok, but not fast enough :-)
Could you please advise where to start?
Pictures of the controler on following link:
https://imgur.com/a/xb7C0

Thanks !

User avatar
wineboyrider
100 MW
100 MW
Posts: 2929
Joined: Sep 30, 2009 9:08 am
Location: Tularosa, New Mexico
Contact:

Re: Remove speed limit from step

Post by wineboyrider » Oct 28, 2017 12:53 pm

Easiest speed upgrade is to up the voltage to 48v if the caps can take it?
ES IS SAVED! THANK YOU JUSTIN.

SlowCo
10 kW
10 kW
Posts: 608
Joined: Jan 05, 2015 5:43 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Remove speed limit from step

Post by SlowCo » Oct 28, 2017 1:03 pm

What is it's current top speed? Mount a simple bicycle computer on the scooter with the magnet and sensor at the rear wheel. Then see what the max speed is when lifted in the air at full throttle vs. riding it on a flat stretch of road with you on it. If the speed riding it is a lot less than lifted in the air it isn't restricted. Then the battery pack voltage will determine the max speed and you will need to get a higher voltage battery and controller.
If it is restricted (speed in air = speed when riding) then you need to contact the seller to see if it can be derestricted.

Elbobbah
1 mW
1 mW
Posts: 16
Joined: Oct 28, 2017 12:42 pm

Re: Remove speed limit from step

Post by Elbobbah » Oct 28, 2017 1:16 pm

More info on battery and motor
300W toothed brushless EP motor
36v, 10.4 ah oplaadbare lithium batterij

Speed is 18kph (about 11mph).

User avatar
wineboyrider
100 MW
100 MW
Posts: 2929
Joined: Sep 30, 2009 9:08 am
Location: Tularosa, New Mexico
Contact:

Re: Remove speed limit from step

Post by wineboyrider » Oct 28, 2017 1:28 pm

Your controller says 36v 15amps so you should be getting at least 500w of peak power? If you are then it probably isn't speed (current) limited. I have overvolted many of currie scooters to around 12s lipo without problems, but it is pushing the limits of the voltage caps.
ES IS SAVED! THANK YOU JUSTIN.

Elbobbah
1 mW
1 mW
Posts: 16
Joined: Oct 28, 2017 12:42 pm

Re: Remove speed limit from step

Post by Elbobbah » Oct 28, 2017 2:27 pm

wineboyrider wrote:Your controller says 36v 15amps so you should be getting at least 500w of peak power? If you are then it probably isn't speed (current) limited. I have overvolted many of currie scooters to around 12s lipo without problems, but it is pushing the limits of the voltage caps.
However engine is 300W

User avatar
ElectricGod
100 kW
100 kW
Posts: 1434
Joined: Nov 01, 2015 5:24 pm

Re: Remove speed limit from step

Post by ElectricGod » Oct 28, 2017 9:10 pm

Don't bother trying to upgrade that controller. just get another one that will do what you want. By the time you hack that one for more performance, you will have spent more time and money than it's worth.
ElectricGod...it's a joke...don't take things so seriously folks!

XB-502 Moped:
https://endless-sphere.com/forums/viewt ... 0#p1222730

Currie scooter:
https://endless-sphere.com/forums/viewt ... 7#p1227407

Elbobbah
1 mW
1 mW
Posts: 16
Joined: Oct 28, 2017 12:42 pm

Re: Remove speed limit from step

Post by Elbobbah » Oct 29, 2017 2:01 am

ElectricGod wrote:Don't bother trying to upgrade that controller. just get another one that will do what you want. By the time you hack that one for more performance, you will have spent more time and money than it's worth.

But Will a new controller help if the engine is only 300W?
Will a 36v controller with more current (now 15A) do the trick?

So if I am correct, The output should be 15*36 = 525W, but the engine is only 300W
Or does this have nothing to see with each other?

User avatar
wineboyrider
100 MW
100 MW
Posts: 2929
Joined: Sep 30, 2009 9:08 am
Location: Tularosa, New Mexico
Contact:

Re: Remove speed limit from step

Post by wineboyrider » Oct 29, 2017 9:03 am

Elbobbah wrote:
ElectricGod wrote:Don't bother trying to upgrade that controller. just get another one that will do what you want. By the time you hack that one for more performance, you will have spent more time and money than it's worth.

But Will a new controller help if the engine is only 300W?
Will a 36v controller with more current (now 15A) do the trick?

So if I am correct, The output should be 15*36 = 525W, but the engine is only 300W
Or does this have nothing to see with each other?
It's a brushed motor so you could put 1000w through it if you wanted too. The 300w rating is a nominal or average rating. As the motor might start out with 500w peak the watts will slow down as you get up to speed. You can easily push this motor probably up into the 1000w range, but you might overheat the motor, but the motors are cheap so why not give it hell?





lol
ES IS SAVED! THANK YOU JUSTIN.

Elbobbah
1 mW
1 mW
Posts: 16
Joined: Oct 28, 2017 12:42 pm

Re: Remove speed limit from step

Post by Elbobbah » Oct 29, 2017 10:35 am

wineboyrider wrote:
Elbobbah wrote:
ElectricGod wrote:Don't bother trying to upgrade that controller. just get another one that will do what you want. By the time you hack that one for more performance, you will have spent more time and money than it's worth.

But Will a new controller help if the engine is only 300W?
Will a 36v controller with more current (now 15A) do the trick?

So if I am correct, The output should be 15*36 = 525W, but the engine is only 300W
Or does this have nothing to see with each other?
It's a brushed motor so you could put 1000w through it if you wanted too. The 300w rating is a nominal or average rating. As the motor might start out with 500w peak the watts will slow down as you get up to speed. You can easily push this motor probably up into the 1000w range, but you might overheat the motor, but the motors are cheap so why not give it hell?





lol
Lol good thinking.
So something like this would do the trick?

https://www.banggood.com/nl/36V-500W-Mo ... PAQAvD_BwE

User avatar
wineboyrider
100 MW
100 MW
Posts: 2929
Joined: Sep 30, 2009 9:08 am
Location: Tularosa, New Mexico
Contact:

Re: Remove speed limit from step

Post by wineboyrider » Oct 29, 2017 10:53 am

Elbobbah wrote:
wineboyrider wrote:
Elbobbah wrote:
ElectricGod wrote:Don't bother trying to upgrade that controller. just get another one that will do what you want. By the time you hack that one for more performance, you will have spent more time and money than it's worth.

But Will a new controller help if the engine is only 300W?
Will a 36v controller with more current (now 15A) do the trick?

So if I am correct, The output should be 15*36 = 525W, but the engine is only 300W
Or does this have nothing to see with each other?
It's a brushed motor so you could put 1000w through it if you wanted too. The 300w rating is a nominal or average rating. As the motor might start out with 500w peak the watts will slow down as you get up to speed. You can easily push this motor probably up into the 1000w range, but you might overheat the motor, but the motors are cheap so why not give it hell?





lol
Lol good thinking.
So something like this would do the trick?

https://www.banggood.com/nl/36V-500W-Mo ... PAQAvD_BwE
I like the yi yun controllers best and I buy them from electricscooterparts.com
ES IS SAVED! THANK YOU JUSTIN.

User avatar
wineboyrider
100 MW
100 MW
Posts: 2929
Joined: Sep 30, 2009 9:08 am
Location: Tularosa, New Mexico
Contact:

Re: Remove speed limit from step

Post by wineboyrider » Oct 29, 2017 10:59 am

24-60V 700-1000W Electric Scooter/Bicycle Speed Controller with Throttle
24-60 Volt input range. Works with 24-36 Volt motors up to 700 Watts, and 48-60 Volt motors up to 1000 Watts. Current limiting feature prevents controller and motor damage due to over-current conditions. Includes a standard variable speed hall-effect twist throttle with matching left hand side grip. Works with 24, 36, 48, and 60 Volt battery packs.
Item # SPD-601000A
This is the one I have it can take up to 60v and less wires and very durable and will let you play with different voltages. You just have to manage your batteries low voltage cutoff.
ES IS SAVED! THANK YOU JUSTIN.

User avatar
wineboyrider
100 MW
100 MW
Posts: 2929
Joined: Sep 30, 2009 9:08 am
Location: Tularosa, New Mexico
Contact:

Re: Remove speed limit from step

Post by wineboyrider » Oct 29, 2017 11:08 am

Wait a minute I looked at the pic of your controller again and I see what look like three phase wires so it might be a brushless motor and controller?
Do you have a pic and a model description of your motor and scooter?
ES IS SAVED! THANK YOU JUSTIN.

User avatar
wineboyrider
100 MW
100 MW
Posts: 2929
Joined: Sep 30, 2009 9:08 am
Location: Tularosa, New Mexico
Contact:

Re: Remove speed limit from step

Post by wineboyrider » Oct 29, 2017 11:11 am

Elbobbah wrote:More info on battery and motor
300W toothed brushless EP motor
36v, 10.4 ah oplaadbare lithium batterij

Speed is 18kph (about 11mph).
Have a link to your scooter?
ES IS SAVED! THANK YOU JUSTIN.

User avatar
wineboyrider
100 MW
100 MW
Posts: 2929
Joined: Sep 30, 2009 9:08 am
Location: Tularosa, New Mexico
Contact:

Re: Remove speed limit from step

Post by wineboyrider » Oct 29, 2017 11:14 am

This one? If so you could probably do a shunt mod on your fets and up the current? First thing to know is if it is speed restricted so you will have to measure the current from your controller?
ES IS SAVED! THANK YOU JUSTIN.

Elbobbah
1 mW
1 mW
Posts: 16
Joined: Oct 28, 2017 12:42 pm

Re: Remove speed limit from step

Post by Elbobbah » Oct 29, 2017 11:26 am

wineboyrider wrote:
This one? If so you could probably do a shunt mod on your fets and up the current? First thing to know is if it is speed restricted so you will have to measure the current from your controller?
http://bestep.be/ is the site, local brand
300W HUB motor it is brushless...

Elbobbah
1 mW
1 mW
Posts: 16
Joined: Oct 28, 2017 12:42 pm

Re: Remove speed limit from step

Post by Elbobbah » Oct 29, 2017 11:28 am

wineboyrider wrote:
This one? If so you could probably do a shunt mod on your fets and up the current? First thing to know is if it is speed restricted so you will have to measure the current from your controller?
Indeed exactly that one

User avatar
wineboyrider
100 MW
100 MW
Posts: 2929
Joined: Sep 30, 2009 9:08 am
Location: Tularosa, New Mexico
Contact:

Re: Remove speed limit from step

Post by wineboyrider » Oct 29, 2017 1:57 pm

Ok you're going to need a brushless controller for it or you can open up the controller and add some solder to it to get more current.
ES IS SAVED! THANK YOU JUSTIN.

User avatar
wineboyrider
100 MW
100 MW
Posts: 2929
Joined: Sep 30, 2009 9:08 am
Location: Tularosa, New Mexico
Contact:

Re: Remove speed limit from step

Post by wineboyrider » Oct 29, 2017 2:02 pm

Wonder if it is geared or DD hub? If it is geared you can only push it a little bit up the watt scale, but if it's a DD hub you could go higher?
ES IS SAVED! THANK YOU JUSTIN.

User avatar
wineboyrider
100 MW
100 MW
Posts: 2929
Joined: Sep 30, 2009 9:08 am
Location: Tularosa, New Mexico
Contact:

Re: Remove speed limit from step

Post by wineboyrider » Oct 29, 2017 2:05 pm

ES IS SAVED! THANK YOU JUSTIN.

SlowCo
10 kW
10 kW
Posts: 608
Joined: Jan 05, 2015 5:43 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Remove speed limit from step

Post by SlowCo » Oct 29, 2017 2:08 pm

Probably a high rpm geared (toothed as is in their info) hub motor. If it's not speed restricted you will have to upgrade the battery voltage to get more speed. 48V instead of 36V would give 24km/h.

Elbobbah
1 mW
1 mW
Posts: 16
Joined: Oct 28, 2017 12:42 pm

Re: Remove speed limit from step

Post by Elbobbah » Oct 29, 2017 2:16 pm

A lot of information at once, since I am new to this, I will try to do some research.
Not every question/answer is clear to me :-)

Anyway, thanks a lot for all the answers!

Will get back to you guys when I have more details :pancake: :pancake: :pancake: :pancake:

SlowCo
10 kW
10 kW
Posts: 608
Joined: Jan 05, 2015 5:43 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Remove speed limit from step

Post by SlowCo » Oct 29, 2017 2:21 pm

First you should test if it is speed restricted by the controller as I described in my post above. Work from there.

User avatar
wineboyrider
100 MW
100 MW
Posts: 2929
Joined: Sep 30, 2009 9:08 am
Location: Tularosa, New Mexico
Contact:

Re: Remove speed limit from step

Post by wineboyrider » Oct 29, 2017 2:23 pm

SlowCo wrote:First you should test if it is speed restricted by the controller as I described in my post above. Work from there.
Agreed.
ES IS SAVED! THANK YOU JUSTIN.

User avatar
wineboyrider
100 MW
100 MW
Posts: 2929
Joined: Sep 30, 2009 9:08 am
Location: Tularosa, New Mexico
Contact:

Re: Remove speed limit from step

Post by wineboyrider » Oct 29, 2017 2:26 pm

I would love to modify this one looks like a nice start.
ES IS SAVED! THANK YOU JUSTIN.

Post Reply