Controller to throttle and digital voltmeter panel

Lightweight / Folding / Portable EVs - seats optional
Post Reply
banora   100 µW

100 µW
Posts: 9
Joined: May 11 2018 12:35pm

Controller to throttle and digital voltmeter panel

Post by banora » May 11 2018 1:35pm

Hi guys newbie to the forum here.

I decided to build my own scooter and bought most of the parts online.
I'll be running a dual motor/controller setup.
Everything has arrived and i'm excited to put them together. However i ran into some problems

Firstly the connectors for the throttle is different. Instead of getting new connectors, can i just solder the wires together?
Second, both my motors and controllers have hall sensors on them, but the ones on my motor doesn't have connectors. Again, can i just solder them together?
Third, On my controller, there's a 3-speed gear wire. I'm not sure if the 3-speed gear wire needs to be connected to anything.
And finally the hardest problem i have encountered.
I have a digital voltmeter panel with key ignition (basically my On/Off switch). And on my controllers, there's a single red On/Off wire.
I want to somehow connect the voltmeter panel to my controller to be able to monitor the voltage and also be able to turn On/Off my scooter.
I've tried searching online for help but to no avail.
Hope you guys can help me out here.

Cheers!

P.S. Not sure if i should add pictures but let me know if i need to.

User avatar
made_in_the_alps_legacy   10 kW

10 kW
Posts: 702
Joined: Nov 14 2013 1:44am
Location: the alps - near italy, france, switzerland

Re: Controller to throttle and digital voltmeter panel

Post by made_in_the_alps_legacy » May 12 2018 4:25pm

soldering is ok as long as you do it properly. sometimes it's good to start with those thing below before soldering
Image
the red cable of your controller should be energized (battery "+") for ur controller to be "on", I don't know if it can be connected to your voltmeter panel.

banora   100 µW

100 µW
Posts: 9
Joined: May 11 2018 12:35pm

Re: Controller to throttle and digital voltmeter panel

Post by banora » May 14 2018 12:09pm

The red wire i mentioned is not the main battery lines. It's an entirely separate single red wire that has chinese lettering on it which i can make out. It stands for power. So i'm wondering if that wire can be connected to my voltmeter panel.

banora   100 µW

100 µW
Posts: 9
Joined: May 11 2018 12:35pm

Re: Controller to throttle and digital voltmeter panel

Post by banora » May 14 2018 12:17pm

Cant seem to post photos because file size is too large.

User avatar
fechter   100 GW

100 GW
Posts: 13080
Joined: Dec 31 2006 3:23pm
Location: California Bay Area, USA

Re: Controller to throttle and digital voltmeter panel

Post by fechter » May 14 2018 2:17pm

Your controller sounds pretty typical. Yes you can solder the wires as long as you make sure they are the right ones.

For the ignition line, you place your on/off switch between the skinny red wire and the fat red wire. The meter can go to the skinny one so it gets turned off with the ignition.

The 3 speed switch generally defaults to speed 2 if you don't connect it. There are 3 wires, one is a ground. If you ground one wire you get speed 1. Grounding the other wire gives speed 3.
"One test is worth a thousand opinions"

banora   100 µW

100 µW
Posts: 9
Joined: May 11 2018 12:35pm

Re: Controller to throttle and digital voltmeter panel

Post by banora » May 16 2018 10:23pm

fechter wrote:
May 14 2018 2:17pm
Your controller sounds pretty typical. Yes you can solder the wires as long as you make sure they are the right ones.

For the ignition line, you place your on/off switch between the skinny red wire and the fat red wire. The meter can go to the skinny one so it gets turned off with the ignition.

The 3 speed switch generally defaults to speed 2 if you don't connect it. There are 3 wires, one is a ground. If you ground one wire you get speed 1. Grounding the other wire gives speed 3.
So that means to say i would need to solder the thin red wire together to my on/off switch and to my main battery line (positive)?

banora   100 µW

100 µW
Posts: 9
Joined: May 11 2018 12:35pm

Re: Controller to throttle and digital voltmeter panel

Post by banora » May 16 2018 10:46pm

Controller wires.jpg
This is my controller with it's wires if it helps.
It's a Yuyang King YKZ7250JG with bluetooth module already connected.
As i'm going with a 2-WD setup, everything just confuses the heck out of me. Not to mention everything is in chinese.
As of now, i know how to connect the throttle wires to the ones on the controllers.
But the ignition switch is just driving me crazy since i cant turn in on/off.
Wuxing throttle.png
Wuxing throttle.png (440.52 KiB) Viewed 534 times
Throttle i'm using.
Voltmeter.png
Voltmeter.png (389.73 KiB) Viewed 534 times
Ignition switch i will be using.

User avatar
fechter   100 GW

100 GW
Posts: 13080
Joined: Dec 31 2006 3:23pm
Location: California Bay Area, USA

Re: Controller to throttle and digital voltmeter panel

Post by fechter » May 17 2018 8:46am

You need to install a switch between the main battery + wire and the red ignition wire:
Controller wires1.jpg
Controller wires1.jpg (71.33 KiB) Viewed 527 times
This can be almost any switch as the current is low. The main battery + wire can stay connected to the battery.

Below is an instruction manual for a Yuyang King controller. Probably a different model, but most of the wiring will be similar.
"One test is worth a thousand opinions"

banora   100 µW

100 µW
Posts: 9
Joined: May 11 2018 12:35pm

Re: Controller to throttle and digital voltmeter panel

Post by banora » May 17 2018 9:19am

So i should solder the red wire on my ignition switch to the main battery line (+) and the thin red wire?
And should i make a cut on the main battery line (+) ?
What about the rest of the wire on the ignition switch? The black and green ones.

User avatar
made_in_the_alps_legacy   10 kW

10 kW
Posts: 702
Joined: Nov 14 2013 1:44am
Location: the alps - near italy, france, switzerland

Re: Controller to throttle and digital voltmeter panel

Post by made_in_the_alps_legacy » May 17 2018 1:16pm

do has Fechter showed, (that's what I meant initially, I usually just solder the ignition thin wire on the power line, yes with a careful cut, and some heat shrink around, but if you really want an ignition switch, put it there ) I am not aware of any additional wires for an ignition switch

banora   100 µW

100 µW
Posts: 9
Joined: May 11 2018 12:35pm

Re: Controller to throttle and digital voltmeter panel

Post by banora » May 17 2018 1:24pm

Thanks guys, i'm gonna go ahead and try it out.
Those extra two wires are red and black so i would assume it's to power on the led indicator.
As I'm running a 2-WD system, do i only need to do the connections on 1 controller or do i have to do both?
Last edited by banora on May 17 2018 1:52pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
danielrlee   1 kW

1 kW
Posts: 446
Joined: Mar 29 2013 8:30am
Location: Wiltshire, UK

Re: Controller to throttle and digital voltmeter panel

Post by danielrlee » May 17 2018 1:46pm

EDIT: POST DELETED
Last edited by danielrlee on May 18 2018 1:19am, edited 1 time in total.

banora   100 µW

100 µW
Posts: 9
Joined: May 11 2018 12:35pm

Re: Controller to throttle and digital voltmeter panel

Post by banora » May 17 2018 4:46pm

I've just tried what you guys said but it's not working. I tried wiring my on/off switch's red and black wire to the alarm's red and black wire and the green wire to the thin red wire on my controller. It seemed to work but only the on/off switch's led is turned on permanently. Tried pulling the throttle but the motors aren't spinning. Battery connectors did the usual arc/spark when i plug it in tho.

User avatar
fechter   100 GW

100 GW
Posts: 13080
Joined: Dec 31 2006 3:23pm
Location: California Bay Area, USA

Re: Controller to throttle and digital voltmeter panel

Post by fechter » May 18 2018 9:08am

I have no clue how your switch works as it is more than just a switch. There should be some instructions somewhere for it.

I would guess the 3rd wire is for the LED. If you have an ohmmeter, you could disconnect the switch and measure between the wires to figure out exactly which ones go to the switch contacts. It sounds like you have the LED going across the where the switch contacts should be. Randomly trying combinations of wires is a good way to blow things up.
"One test is worth a thousand opinions"

Post Reply