My First eBoat Build

Well actually it will be my first boat build as well. I've found the following set of plans that seem easy enough for someone with average wood working skills. Here it is: http://www.boatdesigns.com/10-Imp-flat-bottom-rowboat/products/175/ I have been building things out of wood for over 30 years and feel quite comfortable with this part.

The next part is where I could use some input. Adding power.

My goal is to use an old 9C 9x7 hub as the motor for this thing. I'll of coarse remove the hub from the rim, pull the wires from the axle and redirect them through the side cover. This should allow me to mount the hub between the back seats and use the axle to spin the prop. I'll need to come up with a linkage to extend the axle length into the water. Maybe press a bearing on the axle shaft and support it just above the water line with a cantilever arm to keep the axle straight under load.

Does anyone have any idea if the hub would work in this setup? I'm not sure if the 500W motor (I regularly put over 1000W contiuously through my other 9x7, without much heat) will give me enough power to troll around a lake for fishing purposes. My last concern is using the axle to power the boat. Will spinning the axle instead of the hub wear anything wrong faster than normal? Not that I care too much, as the hub is collecting dust anyway.

Thanks in advance for any advice you have to share! :mrgreen:

That boat is OK, but will need a fair bit of power, as the transom will create more drag than you want for electric power. If you want a simple to build boat with relatively low hull drag, then I'd suggest looking at some of the sharpies, dories or perhaps the bateux flat bottomed canoe, or maybe even the West Mersea Duck Punt (Which is what I'm building at the moment). Here's some links to free plans that may be of interest:

A pretty good 14 ft canoe from 2 sheets of ply: http://www.bateau.com/freeplans.php