Help UMN Researchers with E-Scooter Design

maddie1654

10 µW
Hello! I am a researcher at the University of Minnesota and am working to develop technology to improve e-scooter rider safety, especially in regards to e-scooter crashes with motor vehicles. We are seeking volunteers to participate in a survey about safety perception and previous e-scooter crashes. If you are interested, please use the link below to access the survey - this research will inform future design development and we would really appreciate your feedback!

Use this link to access the survey:https://umn.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_3xVgfXACoT2EfAi

I presume this statement, which is on a page by itself, with just buttons for Yes and No:
A crash includes impact with any vehicle type (car, bike, another scooter, etc.), impact with a pedestrian, or any event in which you sustained injuries at or above the severity of an abrasion, bruise, or sprain (for example, a crash after losing control on rough terrain).
was supposed to have an actual Yes/No question attached to it, but you just forgot to put it in there.

Or are you just testing to see if people agree with whether that is a crash or not?

You should probably clarify that on that page.

Went thru the first 6-8 questions.

You are producing this on behalf of an institution of higher learning, within the United States?

You fail completely to even describe what an e-scooter IS. A kick-scooter with a motor, or a small motorcycle? Pictures might be useful.

Incompetent. Might pass muster for a grade-school class. Not suitable for adult consideration.

Hi - thank you both for your feedback. I apologize for the confusion. The crash question has been fixed and I've further clarified e-scooter as an electronic kick scooter. If you have any other questions about the survey, please let me know!

I assumed it was a larger type of vehicle, so that's how I filled it out.