First Build - Can't get LCD to power up

GuyP

100 µW
Hi, I'm in Covid 19 lock down here in New Zealand building an ebike. This is my first build so I'm I'm a total newbie. I've built a 4p13s 48v battery that seems to be charging ok.

I bought this kit on Amazon

https://www.amazon.com/JAXPETY-1000W-Electric-Bicycle-Conversion/dp/B07F1FLHC8/ref=cm_cr_arp_d_pl_foot_top?ie=UTF8&th=1

I then decided I would prefer a LCD readout so bought this controller / lcd kit:

https://aliexpress.ru/item/32616948234.html

I have read Micah Toll's ebike book and found this helpful in putting the bits together. However when I completed all the connections and attached the battery I got no LCD startup (screen remains blank) and the throttle does nothing. I'm not quite sure what I've done wrong. Obviously I have had to re-solder connections from the original Contoller kit onto the new LCD controller.
Where might I start with trouble shooting? I'm not even sure my new controller and LCD are compatible with the Amazon rear hub motor.

LCDControler.png

At this stage I haven't installed the pas sensor since I don't have the tools to install yet. I'm Not sure if this is part of the problem?

Would really appreciate some help sorting this out.

Guy

the first thing to check to be sure there is power, is to make sure the battery itself is working. jsut because it is charging doesn't mean it's outputting voltage correctly. what voltage does it read at the bms (if any) main output wires, when not connected to the controller? what voltage does it read at the main output wires when it is connected to the controller and you try to switch the controller on?

next is to ensure that any "ignition / keyswitch / door lock / etc" wire, usually a thin red or orange wire, is connected to battery positive. that wire provides battery power to the controller's internal power supply for it's brain, and the lcd.