Hello, and converting an old Moots to BBSHD

nikhintz

10 mW
IMG20220331213433 by nik1924, on Flickr

Hello to everybody from Guam. I am new to Ebikes and the forum, and perhaps a bit rusty and antiquated to the much changed world of bikes. I have decided to convert my 2001 Rigormootis to a mid drive ebike with the ultimate goals of being my commuter/grocery getter and weekend trail explorer. Somewhere in the nebulous world of ground shipping delays across the Pacific to this tiny speck of land, that isn't quite the US, lies a BBSHD kit with a 52v, 17.5AH battery. Most of the other updated parts have already landed on island, with only a couple small missteps so far. I have learned that the frame will only accept a 160mm rotor without hitting the chainstay. At least i have a spare 180 for the front now

The drivetrain will be the stock 46 tooth up front with a Box 11-50 tooth 9 speed cassette out back. Brakes are Deore 4 piston, 180mm front and 160mm rear. I am working on sourcing a beefier set of wheels to cope with the added weight of bike and my now much heavier self. finding 26inch QR wheels that seem worth buying has proven challenging.

Anyhow, if anybody has words of advice, encouragement, or general verbal abuse, I would love to hear it.
Thanks

It is weird how the crack in the wall and the front tube stem lined up perfectly from that camera angle.
Other then that it looks great, keep the pictures coming. :thumb:

nikhintz said:
I have learned that the frame will only accept a 160mm rotor without hitting the chainstay. At least i have a spare 180 for the front now
Depending on your speeds, weights, and trails, the rear 160mm might not be a problem. Looks like you have cantilever mounts so could use those with some Koolstop pads for good braking performance.

I suspect the 160 will be ok, I'd need to look pretty hard to find a hill with more than 400-500 feet of elevation change. The high point on the island is only about 1200