Electric Motocross Bicycle build (Tons of big pictures)

dpearce

1 W
Hello all, I am new to this forum, I just recently came across it and have been checking out everyone's bikes and have been learning a lot. I wish I had found it sooner, I could have saved a lot of money and time researching, and undoubtedly produced a better bike . Although I am a newbie noobie noob whatever, I have something to contribute, I present to ES my electric bike, it was built as a mechanical engineering senior design project with the help of two other M.E. students. It is not 100% finished yet, but it is functional, maybe 5-10% more work until I am satisfied. This bike was designed and built in less than 4 months. Consequently, without sufficient time to reinvent the wheel, the focus of this build was on something that the ebike world seems to be lacking, a purpose built structure, designed from the ground up to be uniquely integrated with off the shelf components. So here it is, hopefully this build can provide some useful information to the members here undertaking similar projects.

The structure's (chassis, frame) function is to act as a housing for the electronic components, support for the suspension and rider, and tie everything together in a sleek appearing package. The project was started with classification and rating schemes to systematically find good solutions for the requirements set forth, and the project was to be completed within the budget of $4000.

Specifications:

Total weight 90lbs
Carbon fiber monocoque frame, <9lbs.
Custom built swingarm ~2.5 lbs.
CR80 motorcycle front forks and rear shock, rear ratio is 3" wheel travel per inch shock travel with progressive rate geometry.
Setup to provide 9.5" suspension travel front and rear.
72V 10ah Lipo batteries, ~8lbs (as of now), but it was designed to accommodate at least 72v 20 ah, as well as another controller for a front hub motor.
26" x 2.7" tires on 26 x 2.5" rims
Hayes 203mm / 8" hydraulic discs
5 speed