Custom frame, full suspension cargo bike thread

Get all your technical information about electric bikes here.
agniusm
10 MW
10 MW

Custom frame, full suspension cargo bike thread

Post by agniusm » Jan 03, 2012 7:12 pm

Hi, thought i will start a thread and put some info on the build, ask questions on the build as i go along. Better bit by bit than the whole thing at once i guess. This is my first build and a lot to learn, lots to discover.
My idea is to build a cargo bike with interchangeable platform at the front, with recumbent seating, full suspension.
Here is the main parts i have purchased:
Electrics:
Motor: Clyte HS3540
Controller: china brand - noname
BMS: LY.BMS.24S60
Battery: 24S A123 20AH Prismatic cells
Suspension:
Front suspension fork: RST Capa T10
Rear shock: Cane Creek Cloud Nine

Wheels and tires:
Front: KHE-Bikes Easy-0 BMX + Novatec - DO 41 SB hub, Maxis Hookworm tire, Maxis tube
Rear: Alexrims DX32, Maxis Hookworm Tire, Maxis tube

Brakes: Hydraulic front and rear Tektro Auriga Comp

The project is gona go slow, i need to build my workshop in spring so i am trying to assemble as many loose ends as possible.
The main are:
Design a nice battery with tidy connections
Design/copy the seat
Get the rear wheel done
Chose lights, signals etc.
etc. etc. etc....

Here is almost assembled front end:
Last edited by agniusm on Jan 29, 2012 4:04 am, edited 1 time in total.

agniusm
10 MW
10 MW

Battery

Post by agniusm » Jan 03, 2012 7:36 pm

I am trying to get the cell clamping plate designed, here is the arrangement the cells will be in:

I want to keep all the components inside platform base, probably 70mm deep.
Here is the plate i am trying to work on, no EagleCad experience here, no time to get in to that stuff, using what i know:
There will be tracks added to solder in BMS wires so i dont get loose conections. A guy quoted me at 28USD a piece, designed and made, i need two to go in front of each other.

Here is the seat i would like to make and use: