Custom eBike Based on Enduro Frame

Burntspot

10 mW
Hi everyone, This is my post to follow my Enduro eBike build. I have been working on the bike for the past 2 months and I figure that I am about two months out before completion. Please let me know if you have any questions or would like me to cover a specific portion of the build not documented. Thanks and enjoy!

This is is my Youtube Link:
https://www.youtube.com/user/adminaeg/videos?view=0&sort=da&flow=grid

Parts/Specs
Enduro eBike Frame (White)
72V 20AH 18650 cells recovered from laptop batteries
60A continuous 120A peak BMS
Cycle Analyst V3
18Fet Controller
Truvativ Hussefelt 60mm MTB Stem
Killah 200mm Dual Crown 26" Fork
Race Face bar and Sniper Grips
DNM Volcano Rear Shock
SRAM AVID DB5
Ashima Airotor Disc Brake 203mm
Wellgo Xpedo Face Off XMX 18AC Pedals
70's Classic Crank
24" 65mm Rims
Crazy Bob Tire
Crytalyte TC4080

Nice quality video clips, and the bike is looking good too. I always found that laptop batteries were quite restrictive due to their poor discharge ratings, but i guess that the newer laptops have better cells.

Did you weld the battery terminals or solder?

brumbrum said:
Nice quality video clips, and the bike is looking good too. I always found that laptop batteries were quite restrictive due to their poor discharge ratings, but i guess that the newer laptops have better cells.

I tend to agree. I run a 15S Lipo pack on my other Frankenstein bike and I get a real good punch at peak charge but after about 54V (3.6V/cell) the current drops off. Now the 18650 cell have more energy density at a lower amp discharge. I will be building a second pack with new cells. The new LG MJ1 have a 10A rating which will give me 100A at 10P, double at 20P I am considering (http://batterybro.com/blogs/18650-wholesale-battery-reviews/40773059-new-lg-mj1-18650-battery-review-3500mah). Thanks for the comment. Hope you stick around for the rest of this build and future ones.