First Project - Ribble Road Bike [Q128C]

Lovelock

10 W
After around a month of research I finally started my conversion last night. I have to credit 'D8veh' over on Pedelecs and 'molybdenum' from here for giving me plenty of advice!

I have no prior knowledge or eBikes / electronics so its been a massive learning curve, if you notice anything I say is wrong please advise!

I'm starting a new job in a couple of weeks that is 6 miles each way commute, I don't want to turn up sweating everyday so an eBike sounded perfect!

I've decided to convert my current roadbike:

AYd0Hdj.jpg

China delivered quicker than expected! Which left me with a pile of parts ready to fit:

SRGmrB6.jpg

My current wheel set is only 24 holed so the last piece of the puzzle is a new rim to come on Monday with 36 hole.

The parts list is:

- Q128c 36v 201RPM
- 20a controller from PSWPower
- 47v 17.5ah battery from Jimmy @Insat

The battery was way over my initial budget, but after speaking to Jimmy he convinced me to go with the larger battery and buying from the UK (where I live...) was worth the extra £100 or so over Em3ev.

My first test was to trial fit the motor:

KUZ2KDE.jpg

With a little filing it fits snuggly, the only concern right now is the derailer arm being close but it might be okay once there chain is properly on?

ld6WcsB.jpg

I'm going to try and keep this build super tidy and as subtle as I can, next up was the display and control:

vMhYoaJ.jpg

I purchased a small seat bag to house the controller:

dcSqDd8.jpg

I will create a small flap towards the front of the bag for cable to run into, this should keep them tucked away tidy and can also store the additional length.

The last part I managed to get done tonight was the battery test fit. In the future i'm intending on having the battery in my backpack as it looks massive on such a small frame but for now it can sit on the frame whilst i'm still working everything out.

yMD1SpC.jpg