Custom 5kW Vector (QS 205v3/Kelly/DNM)

Pb1302

100 mW
Hello everyone. Been gathering parts and building my custom Vector frame ebike. A while back I seen a vid of some dude converting an MTB to an ebike nd got interested in doing my own. Well after researching some limitations of the MTB going fast (via me going down hill at 25mph), I decided it would be better to build something that could handle the speed better. So I went on the interwebs and found some Chinese frames (and many Andy Kirby and Vector videos later)...decided to go with a Vector frame build on my own.

Vector had seemed to do their homework on some key areas of frame strength and quality so I bought the frame from Artur and the journey to where I am today began. I have been gathering and building this thing for about 6 months. It has been very fun and challenging at times. Waiting for parts from all over the world has been interesting but most frustrating is building my temporary 72v battery from recycled laptop cells. It only took 3 exploding cells and a few colorful words (ok maybe more than a few) for me to get an (almost complete now) 72v 20S6P 12ah(ish) pack done. In the near future going to go with what Andy Kirby and Vortecks are running (Liito Kala 26650 5000mAh cells). Going to have as many cells as I can fit into my open space after all wiring and electronics are stowed inside. Might be able to get some kind of L shaped 10S7S packs in there as the Kelly I trolled is small and up as high as it can go. That should be a project all in its self of course...this time with a proper spot welding setup and more sleep so I can pay attention better. 😜 Enjoy the few piks and maybe some video in the future on YT.

Here are some specs of the build:
Vector Typhoon frame (with ABS side covers...little extra room for some air flow)
Kelly KLS7230S controller (w/Bluetooth programming dongle)
QS 205 V3 (5T) motor from Vector (18" moped rim...whole thing is heavy as heck)