Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

General Discussion about electric vehicles.
larsb   100 kW

100 kW
Posts: 1445
Joined: Dec 10 2014 5:12am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by larsb » Dec 07 2019 3:45pm

I also get about 6000 rpm. Be careful at that rpm, i got some cutouts and loss of control last time i maxed the rpm without load
Ride on!

SilverLine   100 W

100 W
Posts: 110
Joined: Oct 09 2017 2:53pm
Location: Denmark

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by SilverLine » Dec 07 2019 3:57pm

larsb wrote:
Dec 07 2019 3:45pm
I also get about 6000 rpm. Be careful at that rpm, i got some cutouts and loss of control last time i maxed the rpm without load
Yes... Without load is usually not very good. Now moving on to test on the road.

SilverLine   100 W

100 W
Posts: 110
Joined: Oct 09 2017 2:53pm
Location: Denmark

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by SilverLine » Dec 08 2019 6:03am

I´m trying to get this speedometer to work, together with the Votol Em-150... : https://www.aliexpress.com/item/3295030 ... 4c4dSniRso

Voltage, obvious work.... But the speed in not working. I have connected the white wire from the Votol to the speed tap on the display, but nothing happen.
Og and yes, i have checked "hall output" in the software...
Any clue..... Thanks


Update. I guess I have to try with one of the hall wires insted.
Attachments
display-pinout.jpeg
display-pinout.jpeg (79.77 KiB) Viewed 1045 times

SilverLine   100 W

100 W
Posts: 110
Joined: Oct 09 2017 2:53pm
Location: Denmark

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by SilverLine » Dec 09 2019 2:21am

Okay.... Got a little closer, i think.

The white wire from the controller is still connected to the "speed" tab on the display....
After i changed Pb9 to 13:Hall_smulat.... I kind of getting something. When giving throttle, the speedometer stays a 0kmh..... But if I turn my wheel by hand, the speedometer start showing the speed. Its like when I make some regenative braking with the motor (I can se the voltage is raising, the moment the speedometer is showing speed) It is working.
Anyone knows what these : "IO" "SW" "LA" "F" "u" "D" boxes does.... and could they have something to do about it ??

Any help is appreciated
Thanks
Attachments
H0c7f9d458adc48f1adc041a88b15ce43C.png
H0c7f9d458adc48f1adc041a88b15ce43C.png (75.56 KiB) Viewed 1023 times

larsb   100 kW

100 kW
Posts: 1445
Joined: Dec 10 2014 5:12am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by larsb » Dec 15 2019 2:58am

I’ve tried to use these without success.

Can only guess..
IO in/out?
SW switch?
LA ?
F function?
u ?
D ?
Ride on!

SilverLine   100 W

100 W
Posts: 110
Joined: Oct 09 2017 2:53pm
Location: Denmark

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by SilverLine » Dec 15 2019 3:13am

larsb wrote:
Dec 15 2019 2:58am
I’ve tried to use these without success.

Can only guess..
IO in/out?
SW switch?
LA ?
F function?
u ?
D ?
According to the seller of the display. I Should take the "speed" Wire from the display , and connect to one of the phase wires. I dont know if this is true, or bad Chinglish, but I find that a little crazy ?

larsb   100 kW

100 kW
Posts: 1445
Joined: Dec 10 2014 5:12am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by larsb » Dec 15 2019 3:28am

Normally it’s done by connecting one of the halls, this will give you a pulsing signal that can be used.

Connecting one of the phases will give a full battery voltage and lots of distortion - it’s not a logic signal..

I guess if you connect a sensorless motor to the speedo then only the phases can be connected.. i still don’t see it done that way.
Ride on!

SilverLine   100 W

100 W
Posts: 110
Joined: Oct 09 2017 2:53pm
Location: Denmark

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by SilverLine » Dec 15 2019 4:51am

larsb wrote:
Dec 15 2019 3:28am
Normally it’s done by connecting one of the halls, this will give you a pulsing signal that can be used.

Connecting one of the phases will give a full battery voltage and lots of distortion - it’s not a logic signal..

I guess if you connect a sensorless motor to the speedo then only the phases can be connected.. i still don’t see it done that way.
I agree, thats where the "chinglish" comes in to play I think..... I think I try one of the hall sensor wires and se, what happens instead.....

For now, telemetry from my gopro must do. Got damn this "QS combo" have some power......
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PQDnRObbOsU&t=5s

larsb   100 kW

100 kW
Posts: 1445
Joined: Dec 10 2014 5:12am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by larsb » Dec 15 2019 5:29am

If you increase the battery current and add a little field weakening (if you don’t already use it) then you’ll see some ”small” improvements on the high rpm torque :D
That’s if your battery can deliver.
Ride on!

SilverLine   100 W

100 W
Posts: 110
Joined: Oct 09 2017 2:53pm
Location: Denmark

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by SilverLine » Dec 15 2019 6:05am

larsb wrote:
Dec 15 2019 5:29am
If you increase the battery current and add a little field weakening (if you don’t already use it) then you’ll see some ”small” improvements on the high rpm torque :D
That’s if your battery can deliver.
This is my field weakening settings. What would you change then larsb ?? I have the controller locked in to "S mode" , so as of now its 150 batts amp. I´m pretty sure my battery can handle more.... But i´m interested in what you think about the field settings.
Thanks
Attachments
flux-settings.jpg
flux-settings.jpg (71.22 KiB) Viewed 920 times

larsb   100 kW

100 kW
Posts: 1445
Joined: Dec 10 2014 5:12am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by larsb » Dec 15 2019 6:25am

Max recommended limits in manual is compensation 64 and 3000 so at least you don’t have too little :D

Set the bus bar amp to 220A and you’ll see.. but be careful not to run long time full throttle.

Why do you have soft start?
Ride on!

SilverLine   100 W

100 W
Posts: 110
Joined: Oct 09 2017 2:53pm
Location: Denmark

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by SilverLine » Dec 15 2019 6:32am

larsb wrote:
Dec 15 2019 6:25am
Max recommended limits in manual is compensation 64 and 3000 so at least you don’t have too little :D

Set the bus bar amp to 220A and you’ll see.. but be careful not to run long time full throttle.

Why do you have soft start?
So if im only in Sport mode all the time, this would be the settings to try?

Sport mode setup -->current limiting --> from 150 to 220 (with caution)
Sport mode setup --> flux weakening value --> from 2900 and 2800 to --> 3000 and 3000
Flux weakening compensation --> from 80 to 64 (to be on the safe side)


Btw. I do not use soft start (old screen shot)

larsb   100 kW

100 kW
Posts: 1445
Joined: Dec 10 2014 5:12am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by larsb » Dec 15 2019 6:46am

No, set bus bar current on first screen to 220A or even 250A.

If you don’t have button activating sport pin then controller never gets to sport mode (if i remember it correctly)

But you might as well change sport to the same settings.
Ride on!

SilverLine   100 W

100 W
Posts: 110
Joined: Oct 09 2017 2:53pm
Location: Denmark

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by SilverLine » Dec 15 2019 6:56am

Yes I have bridged the sport mode wire, and can se under "display" in the software that its in s mode. Okay, I Will change both Places (Amp) what about flux.... Did it sound correct, in my post over here ?

larsb   100 kW

100 kW
Posts: 1445
Joined: Dec 10 2014 5:12am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by larsb » Dec 15 2019 7:36am

Yes, should be correct like that. Question is if it needs to be at max setting.
I’d try a variation from 1000-2000-3000 and see if you notice any difference. If not then just keep it at the lowest level.
Ride on!

SilverLine   100 W

100 W
Posts: 110
Joined: Oct 09 2017 2:53pm
Location: Denmark

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by SilverLine » Dec 15 2019 10:04am

larsb wrote:
Dec 15 2019 7:36am
Yes, should be correct like that. Question is if it needs to be at max setting.
I’d try a variation from 1000-2000-3000 and see if you notice any difference. If not then just keep it at the lowest level.
Thanks.... I try...

Grantmac   10 kW

10 kW
Posts: 680
Joined: Oct 22 2018 12:43pm
Location: Victoria, BC

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by Grantmac » Dec 15 2019 12:22pm

I think you could gear your kart for a bit more speed, you are so traction limited on the bottom end.

SilverLine   100 W

100 W
Posts: 110
Joined: Oct 09 2017 2:53pm
Location: Denmark

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by SilverLine » Dec 15 2019 12:28pm

Grantmac wrote:
Dec 15 2019 12:22pm
I think you could gear your kart for a bit more speed, you are so traction limited on the bottom end.
I think I try : Flux weakening from 80 to 64. And "high flux-weakening" 3000 - 3000..... And some more bat amps. If I have more torque in the top end, maybe i would lower my flux settings even more. And change the back gear sprocket yes... Yes the wheels just spins now from from 0 - 20km/h . But after the tires get warm, its better. And I think that 3 degrees outside , is not the best for grib. I want to keep the massive torque I have now, so I have to test on track when the Spring comes, to se if the tires get more grip.

Grantmac   10 kW

10 kW
Posts: 680
Joined: Oct 22 2018 12:43pm
Location: Victoria, BC

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by Grantmac » Dec 15 2019 12:30pm

Do you have a class you will be running it in? 90km/h is pretty slow for most karts.
Yes kart tires are not made for winter AT ALL! But very few karts can spin them in a straight line even when hot, except maybe shifters.

SilverLine   100 W

100 W
Posts: 110
Joined: Oct 09 2017 2:53pm
Location: Denmark

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by SilverLine » Dec 15 2019 12:40pm

Grantmac wrote:
Dec 15 2019 12:30pm
Do you have a class you will be running it in? 90km/h is pretty slow for most karts.
Yes kart tires are not made for winter AT ALL! But very few karts can spin them in a straight line even when hot, except maybe shifters.

Yes I know its slow...
This was also just a fun project for me to do, so maybe I just stick with that. I know little about karting. My friend has built one also, so we are going to test them against each other on a track no matter what.
I think this is going to be my settings for the next test run. What do you think Larsb ?
Attachments
test-settings.jpg
test-settings.jpg (89.42 KiB) Viewed 894 times

larsb   100 kW

100 kW
Posts: 1445
Joined: Dec 10 2014 5:12am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by larsb » Dec 15 2019 3:32pm

Looks ok, if you increased the busbar current also.

You really should gear it for more speed if you get wheelspins so easily :wink:
Ride on!

SilverLine   100 W

100 W
Posts: 110
Joined: Oct 09 2017 2:53pm
Location: Denmark

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by SilverLine » Dec 15 2019 3:38pm

larsb wrote:
Dec 15 2019 3:32pm
Looks ok, if you increased the busbar current also.

You really should gear it for more speed if you get wheelspins so easily :wink:
I will change the bush bar current as well, even though i don't understand why, when the carts is always permanently in "s-mode" ??

Low and mid has awesome torque... but the top not so much(flux-weakening). My rear pulley (the cart is belt driven) is custom CNC made for my gocart axel. So before I change / got a new pulley made, I would very much like to se a top end with more torque, so the cart actually can take me to maybe the magical 100 km/h with another gearing and better torque :-)
I know regular gasoline karts runs faster in top speed, so if me and my friend whats to compete against that, we have to better torque than on gasoline....

Grantmac   10 kW

10 kW
Posts: 680
Joined: Oct 22 2018 12:43pm
Location: Victoria, BC

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by Grantmac » Dec 15 2019 3:48pm

Even geared way higher you will have a lot more bottom end than a gas kart. They really don't start making power until they are in the upper 50% of their RPM range.
Being traction limited in a straight line will mean you are waaaaay low on traction once you start to go around corners.

I would consider chain drive since that will let you adjust gearing much easier.

SilverLine   100 W

100 W
Posts: 110
Joined: Oct 09 2017 2:53pm
Location: Denmark

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by SilverLine » Dec 15 2019 3:56pm

Grantmac wrote:
Dec 15 2019 3:48pm
Even geared way higher you will have a lot more bottom end than a gas kart. They really don't start making power until they are in the upper 50% of their RPM range.
Being traction limited in a straight line will mean you are waaaaay low on traction once you start to go around corners.

I would consider chain drive since that will let you adjust gearing much easier.
We did choose the belt driven QS mid drive motor for a reason. To see how much we are able to keep the noise down. And because belt is pretty much maintenance free. Since this is a project / test, we knew that many things would change, as things evolved, and we become wiser. Changing the rear pulley is possible going to be one of those things. But at the same time i´m afraid putting even more load on the battery, once I change the gearing, I want to keep some sort of efficiency still. This is still in a early phase, and i'm here to learn 8)

Also the greate thing about electric motors, is that i could easily and fast change settings for the track, once im starting to know my setup and kart better.
Last edited by SilverLine on Dec 15 2019 4:46pm, edited 6 times in total.

larsb   100 kW

100 kW
Posts: 1445
Joined: Dec 10 2014 5:12am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by larsb » Dec 15 2019 3:58pm

I will change the bush bar current as well, even though i don't understand why, when the carts is always permanently in "s-mode" ??
Busbar current should set the overall limit. Sport mode will be dependent on it.

Don’t belive me? Set busbar current at something like 10A and keep the sport setting as it is. What happens?
Ride on!

Post Reply