Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

General Discussion about electric vehicles.
User avatar
Tom on 101   100 mW

100 mW
Posts: 36
Joined: Jun 17 2016 10:12am
Location: Aptos, California

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers (reverting)

Post by Tom on 101 » Jan 07 2021 1:35pm

IronMan wrote:
Jan 06 2021 11:38pm
Tom on 101 wrote:
Jan 06 2021 7:51pm
Hey Everyone, I notice that my VOTOL 150 is being seen by the software as an EM100. I have set this to the 150 setting but every time I connect the software sees the 100 preset. I've tried saving the file, loading it but the it always returns to 100 setting, what gives, is there a remedy?

Also once connected to the controller and setting up a motor the motor ran in reverse for a second, but then stopped completely, I can't run it now, no faults are showing in the software and my setting seem fine, got good connection but no throttle or remote throttle, any ideas for this?

Thank you to the people on this thread, its good info for us :thumb:
phase angle should be -60 for hub almost always, nonetheless check diferent values there and see.. if it doesnt run in any angle from -180 to 180.. then change phase and hall wiring, there are 36 combinations...
You need firmware .bin for em150, if you get it, please post it here.. I only have the .bin for em100
Ok thank you!

Update: Yup -60 worked and turned the wheel. I had to get the older software to reconnect so its handy to have the 2019 and 2020 version of the EM v3 software. Once I connected and had the old talking to the controller both versions started working, this is very buggy software but it does work and the controller is very powerful. Still big problem though.......

Once the throttle opens up to a point the motor takes off, there's some jitter then I lose throttle command and it just go full on WOT until I hit the breaker!!? Turning the key ignition will not dc the motor and it just keeps going, needless to say this is very dangerous! Any help would be appreciated.Is there a safety for this kind of run-away? Here's the settings
Last edited by Tom on 101 on Jan 08 2021 3:08pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Tom on 101   100 mW

100 mW
Posts: 36
Joined: Jun 17 2016 10:12am
Location: Aptos, California

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by Tom on 101 » Jan 07 2021 6:07pm

IronMan wrote:
Jan 05 2021 3:46pm
I have an electric vehicle workshop and a lot of work, sorry that I havent been able to do the manual and the calibration tuto, change the keyboard to english US, open votol debug sw, put cursor at error count box and delet the 0, then hold shift, and press while shift pressed the button '~' twice, that unlocks calibration, go to display screen and press twice the button switch on calibration section, the Q# current stat shown on the middle should be 100-200 when motor spinning full RPM, if not so you can adjust de flix cal. value on calibration section of software, till it is about 200 showing there.. there are other params adjustable but im really short on time be patient please, salute
I'd be very interested if you had an online workshop for us, it would be worth $$ to see someone with experience work with stuff VOTOL tech.

Nazar susan   1 µW

1 µW
Posts: 1
Joined: Jan 07 2021 7:10pm

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers (reverting)

Post by Nazar susan » Jan 07 2021 7:16pm

IronMan wrote:
Jan 06 2021 11:38pm
Tom on 101 wrote:
Jan 06 2021 7:51pm
Hey Everyone, I notice that my VOTOL 150 is being seen by the software as an EM100. I have set this to the 150 setting but every time I connect the software sees the 100 preset. I've tried saving the file, loading it but the it always returns to 100 setting, what gives, is there a remedy?

Also once connected to the controller and setting up a motor the motor ran in reverse for a second, but then stopped completely, I can't run it now, no faults are showing in the software and my setting seem fine, got good connection but no throttle or remote throttle, any ideas for this?

Thank you to the people on this thread, its good info for us :thumb:
phase angle should be -60 for hub almost always, nonetheless check diferent values there and see.. if it doesnt run in any angle from -180 to 180.. then change phase and hall wiring, there are 36 combinations...
You need firmware .bin for em150, if you get it, please post it here.. I only have the .bin for em100
could you please sent me .bin for em100..?
To nazarsusan@gmail.com

User avatar
Tom on 101   100 mW

100 mW
Posts: 36
Joined: Jun 17 2016 10:12am
Location: Aptos, California

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers (reverting)

Post by Tom on 101 » Jan 07 2021 10:01pm

Nazar susan wrote:
Jan 07 2021 7:16pm
IronMan wrote:
Jan 06 2021 11:38pm
Tom on 101 wrote:
Jan 06 2021 7:51pm
Hey Everyone, I notice that my VOTOL 150 is being seen by the software as an EM100. I have set this to the 150 setting but every time I connect the software sees the 100 preset. I've tried saving the file, loading it but the it always returns to 100 setting, what gives, is there a remedy?

Also once connected to the controller and setting up a motor the motor ran in reverse for a second, but then stopped completely, I can't run it now, no faults are showing in the software and my setting seem fine, got good connection but no throttle or remote throttle, any ideas for this?

Thank you to the people on this thread, its good info for us :thumb:
phase angle should be -60 for hub almost always, nonetheless check diferent values there and see.. if it doesnt run in any angle from -180 to 180.. then change phase and hall wiring, there are 36 combinations...
You need firmware .bin for em150, if you get it, please post it here.. I only have the .bin for em100
could you please sent me .bin for em100..?
To nazarsusan@gmail.com
I would if I had that, I believe I need to update my firmware too.

User avatar
smotors   1 mW

1 mW
Posts: 15
Joined: Jan 03 2021 9:08am
Location: Zaporizhzhya
Contact:

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by smotors » Jan 08 2021 12:09am

Something goes wrong with me. When I press the remote control, the motor can rotate the slider on the screen. When you press the calibration, on the third screen for some reason there is no additional window. There is only a temperature window. And when you go to this third screen, the motor stops. Am I doing something wrong, or my software does not allow me to do the synchronization calibrator?
7.jpg
7.jpg (200.25 KiB) Viewed 544 times
8.jpg
8.jpg (199.61 KiB) Viewed 544 times

...added

when I rotate the engine with the slider on the screen, then move all the way to the right, the motor runs stably up to maximum rpm of 4400, but when I switch to control from the throttle stick, it starts to crash at 4300 ...


...added
wow, I saw the right menu)
when the switch is at low speed and maximum speed, I see such a number (shown in the picture)
what should I do next? adjust the parameters so that it is in the range of 100-200? and where to save the result?
9p.jpg
9p.jpg (200.82 KiB) Viewed 540 times
https://youtu.be/HEzUUuL9BTA

Paulflieg   1 mW

1 mW
Posts: 18
Joined: Jan 11 2019 10:30am

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by Paulflieg » Jan 08 2021 6:26am

For the calibration mode, press switch twice!
IMG_20210108_124522.jpg
IMG_20210108_124522.jpg (212.59 KiB) Viewed 526 times

User avatar
smotors   1 mW

1 mW
Posts: 15
Joined: Jan 03 2021 9:08am
Location: Zaporizhzhya
Contact:

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by smotors » Jan 08 2021 7:18am

if there is a check, then you can select L M H and S mode.

I'm already in calibration mode. in the picture above, at a rotation speed of 4311 rpm, the parameter Q# is 1492. But I was informed earlier that it should be in the range of 100-200.

Paulflieg   1 mW

1 mW
Posts: 18
Joined: Jan 11 2019 10:30am

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by Paulflieg » Jan 08 2021 8:18am

For the calibration mode, click twice on "switch"! Then you can set your "200" !!!

Can you see / read? :roll:

User avatar
smotors   1 mW

1 mW
Posts: 15
Joined: Jan 03 2021 9:08am
Location: Zaporizhzhya
Contact:

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by smotors » Jan 08 2021 9:21am

...how do i enable calibration mode:
https://youtu.be/MM26C-Gajw0

what actions are wrong and what to do next?

IronMan   1 mW

1 mW
Posts: 12
Joined: Jan 04 2021 10:47am

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by IronMan » Jan 08 2021 9:56am

-show error box is of no use (dont touch)
-switch box changes between 3 (three) displays:
1.RPM, volts, current
2.RPM, Qvolt, Dvolt
3.RPM, Qcurrent, Dcurrent

-Qvolt should be between 2000-3000 at hall right sync
-Qcurrent should be optimal 200 at high RPM

If Q values dont change while moving weak flux cal and curr cal them use RESET and CALIBRATION button..
*After you have it calibrated use calibration button and SAVE PARAM button

PM for the bin.. salute

And dont forget to put the right value on flux weakening sport mode RIGHT BOX (100-1200) usually 320

User avatar
smotors   1 mW

1 mW
Posts: 15
Joined: Jan 03 2021 9:08am
Location: Zaporizhzhya
Contact:

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by smotors » Jan 08 2021 1:59pm

Thank You. Very useful information for me. The further, the more I learn to configure the controller. :thumb:

User avatar
smotors   1 mW

1 mW
Posts: 15
Joined: Jan 03 2021 9:08am
Location: Zaporizhzhya
Contact:

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by smotors » Jan 09 2021 2:14am

what does this parameter mean? how to set it up correctly?
IMG_20210108_124522.jpg
IMG_20210108_124522.jpg (125.15 KiB) Viewed 482 times

User avatar
smotors   1 mW

1 mW
Posts: 15
Joined: Jan 03 2021 9:08am
Location: Zaporizhzhya
Contact:

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by smotors » Jan 11 2021 2:15pm

Controller setup succeeded). The motor rotates without load stably in all modes. I am glad. There will be more settings when working with the load. Thanks for the help. )

User avatar
Tom on 101   100 mW

100 mW
Posts: 36
Joined: Jun 17 2016 10:12am
Location: Aptos, California

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by Tom on 101 » Jan 12 2021 3:15pm

Hey Guys, I just read the 51 page thread and I see some frustration and great suggestions. My issue didn't seem to be covered. My EM150 is being seen by v3 software as a EM30 and refuses to accept any new settings. Oddly I can see a few settings I know I entered like the phase angle but sadly I can connect, read the settings but can't write any settings. Is anyone aware of a way to reset this? Or perhaps have the BIN file mentioned in the documentation?

4.1 update ECU program.
4.1.1 connect the serial port line and the upper computer and controller successfully.
4.1.2 open the "bin" file, select the bin file and download it. The prompt "CCC The last digit of "d" shows "d", indicating that the download is successful. Serial port line is divided into the following models: em-30 ~ em-150 general, em-200, em-300, ca
Last edited by Tom on 101 on Jan 14 2021 6:14pm, edited 1 time in total.

rbarrow   100 µW

100 µW
Posts: 9
Joined: Jan 03 2021 11:58pm

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by rbarrow » Jan 13 2021 7:52pm

Tom on 101 wrote:
Jan 12 2021 3:15pm
Hey Guys, I just read the 51 page thread and I see some frustration and great suggestions. My issue didn't seem to be covered. My EM150 is being seen by v3 software as a EM30 and refuses to accept any new settings. Oddly I can see a few settings I know I entered like the phase angle but sadly I can connect, read the settings but can't write any settings. Is anyone aware of a way to reset this. Or perhaps have the BIN file mentioned in the documentation.

4.1 update ECU program.
4.1.1 connect the serial port line and the upper computer and controller successfully.
4.1.2 open the "bin" file, select the bin file and download it. The prompt "CCC The last digit of "d" shows "d", indicating that the download is successful. Serial port line is divided into the following models: em-30 ~ em-150 general, em-200, em-300, ca
When you log in, what is the Software and Hardware (SW: and HW:) displayed on page 1. From what I have read, there appears to be some incompatible hardware firmware and software out their.

rienesl   100 µW

100 µW
Posts: 7
Joined: Feb 13 2020 10:28am

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by rienesl » Jan 14 2021 8:49am

Hello everyone. After a couple of hours reading here, I still have a bunch of questions. First of all my setup:
Votol EM50S with an unknown 2kw motor

Image
Image
Image
Image

Edit: Maybe it works like that?

Page1
Page2
Page3
Display

As you might have realized, when I connect the software, it oddly "detects" an EM100. However, this is not my problem (at the moment):

The motor runs seriously noisy. On the original stock controller it was completely silent. So I assume a calibration is necessary. I followed the instructions posted by smotors » Jan 08 2021 9:21am (the youtube video), but I am not able to enter the calibration mode by any means. It simply does nothing, after I copied the "set compare value check" from the line below and erased the error_count. I use the latest software version that can be found on http://www.siaecosys.com/list/?classid=102, but tried with the one from the dropboxlink here in the thread as well.

An other question (yes, I am aware that asking 2 different questions in one post is a high risk, but I do it anyway): There is a serious warning on the user manual about using regenerative braking on LiIon batteries and frying the FETs. Due to I intend to use this controller at 60V (17S) batteries, I get a bit worried. My first non load tests on the main stand already gave a result of 85V when using the brake. Any thoughts on this?

User avatar
Tom on 101   100 mW

100 mW
Posts: 36
Joined: Jun 17 2016 10:12am
Location: Aptos, California

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by Tom on 101 » Jan 14 2021 1:15pm

rbarrow wrote:
Jan 13 2021 7:52pm
Tom on 101 wrote:
Jan 12 2021 3:15pm
Hey Guys, I just read the 51 page thread and I see some frustration and great suggestions. My issue didn't seem to be covered. My EM150 is being seen by v3 software as a EM30 and refuses to accept any new settings. Oddly I can see a few settings I know I entered like the phase angle but sadly I can connect, read the settings but can't write any settings. Is anyone aware of a way to reset this. Or perhaps have the BIN file mentioned in the documentation.
When you log in, what is the Software and Hardware (SW: and HW:) displayed on page 1. From what I have read, there appears to be some incompatible hardware firmware and software out their.
Thanks for taking a look, SW 2.32, HW 1.1
Set1v3.png
Set1v3.png (98.98 KiB) Viewed 199 times

User avatar
smotors   1 mW

1 mW
Posts: 15
Joined: Jan 03 2021 9:08am
Location: Zaporizhzhya
Contact:

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by smotors » Jan 14 2021 1:47pm

...to enter the calibration mode, you need to remove 0, and with the key pressed " Shift", press twice " ~ "
about regenerative braking.
During the tests, did you use a battery or other current source? The battery protection system will not damage it.

rienesl   100 µW

100 µW
Posts: 7
Joined: Feb 13 2020 10:28am

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by rienesl » Jan 14 2021 6:28pm

Dear smotors,
thank you very much for your reply. I will try the software part later today (just woke up :wink: ).

About my power source: I used a fully charged 17s battery, which prevents the cells being charged when the charging level is between 100% and around 80%. This means, that the energy that gets produced when the brake signal is triggered to the controller, gets not "absorbed" by the battery. Accordingly the voltage on the rest of the bike rises. The stock controller had a detection for this behavior and only "generated" that much power, that the voltage on the bike never went above 70V. Due to the Votol controller does not has this function, the warning in the manual makes sense if you operate the controller on a 72V battery, for which it is designed (which will assumingly get the voltage of the system up to 100V or even more). So my worries do not go with the FETs of the battery controller (although they might not be happy with this condition either), but the ones in the Votol (as described/mentioned in the user manual).
However: due to I operate the controller on 60V (17s), I hope that the voltage of 85V might not be nice but still safe for the FETs, due to a 20s battery would need a Voltage of 84V for charging anyway and I can't imagine that this 1V is immediately frying the whole thing.
To get back to the point: my hope is simply, that I misunderstood this warning and there are countless of people out there, who use regen on a 72V system on their bikes without causing any damage. Feedback about this very much appreciated :D

rbarrow   100 µW

100 µW
Posts: 9
Joined: Jan 03 2021 11:58pm

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by rbarrow » Jan 14 2021 6:29pm

Tom on 101 wrote:
Jan 14 2021 1:15pm
rbarrow wrote:
Jan 13 2021 7:52pm
Tom on 101 wrote:
Jan 12 2021 3:15pm
Hey Guys, I just read the 51 page thread and I see some frustration and great suggestions. My issue didn't seem to be covered. My EM150 is being seen by v3 software as a EM30 and refuses to accept any new settings. Oddly I can see a few settings I know I entered like the phase angle but sadly I can connect, read the settings but can't write any settings. Is anyone aware of a way to reset this. Or perhaps have the BIN file mentioned in the documentation.
When you log in, what is the Software and Hardware (SW: and HW:) displayed on page 1. From what I have read, there appears to be some incompatible hardware firmware and software out their.
Thanks for taking a look, SW 2.32, HW 1.1

Set1v3.png
You note 1.1, although your HW states 1.13, which is the latest firmware. If that is the case, your software and hardware firmware look up to date. Now, it does not appear that your device is locked, so I assume you can change it to the correct Votol controller and as you note, make any other updates. You look to have the port open and connected. When you Write Param, what kind of error are you getting. When you connect to the controller, you will see whatever was setup in the controller from whomever you purchased it from. These controllers can be customized to do whatever you want and apparently the last person who programmed it put some incorrect stuff in there. This may seem obvious but you did hit the Connect button, after selecting the Open one.

Russ

User avatar
Tom on 101   100 mW

100 mW
Posts: 36
Joined: Jun 17 2016 10:12am
Location: Aptos, California

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by Tom on 101 » Jan 15 2021 1:09am

Thank you Russ. Yes I'm connected well and when I write Pram it says successful but it does not really accept the change. After writing the pram and exiting the program, the next time I load the program and connect it shows the EM30 settings. I've tried multiple ways but it just doesn't want to write the pram. I think if I had the update mentioned in the manual it could be a possible fix. Tried writing in calibration mode but no luck. All versions of the software do this but I'm trying this right now on the newest version that has the check sum windows, which also indicates a mismatch.
Last edited by Tom on 101 on Jan 15 2021 4:59pm, edited 1 time in total.

rienesl   100 µW

100 µW
Posts: 7
Joined: Feb 13 2020 10:28am

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by rienesl » Jan 15 2021 7:36am

Hello again.
Yes, somehow I missed the instructions on page 50 - calibration mode works now. I have (hopefully?) determined the correct value for the flux weakening and now I struggle to use this knowledge.
Display-calibration.gif
Display-calibration.gif (33.14 KiB) Viewed 138 times
Yes, the throttle is not 100%, but there is no difference if I move it more to the max. However, I know that I need to use this determined value somehow on page 2. But reading page 50 of this thread again and again, I am still clueless - especially when it comes to the jitter and how to determine this value.
Page2-calibration.gif
Page2-calibration.gif (34.52 KiB) Viewed 138 times
Please correct me, what I think wrong:
On page 2 the "flux weakening compensation" setting should be set to the determined value of the calibration, right (in this care from 60 to 12)?

Then we have that "Flux weakening value" in Sport mode, Mid and Hige (=high?). The left value is flux, the right jitter. And here I struggle, because the value expected here is in the thousands, but my determined flux value is just "12". How to determine or calculate those 2 values for each mode?

User avatar
smotors   1 mW

1 mW
Posts: 15
Joined: Jan 03 2021 9:08am
Location: Zaporizhzhya
Contact:

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by smotors » Jan 18 2021 6:26am

who knows what this effect is? ..When the engine speed increases, a high frequency sound is emitted at a certain moment. the current immediately increases slightly. When I connected the oscilloscope, I saw a decrease in the PWM frequency from 15 kHz to 8 .. Is this done to improve control at low speed and reduce heating of the controller transistors at high speed by reducing dynamic losses?
20210118_124413.jpg
20210118_124413.jpg (217.22 KiB) Viewed 41 times
20210118_124301.jpg
20210118_124301.jpg (235.46 KiB) Viewed 41 times

rienesl   100 µW

100 µW
Posts: 7
Joined: Feb 13 2020 10:28am

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by rienesl » Jan 18 2021 9:14am

Unfortunately I still have no idea how to use the values I gathered from the calibration in Page 2. Due to I am afraid to demagnetize the magnets, I don't have the guts to ride the bike until this is set up correct. However, I used the time waiting for help for a small improvement:
My old controllers had the reverse gear and the cruise control in one button - which makes sense, due to you would never use cruise control in reverse anyway. Unfortunately the Votol does not have this setting and it does not allow to simply short circuit the two inputs; if you do it anyway, the reverse gear will always win (it seems there is a type of priority setting here in the firmware). To get around this issue, the usage pattern gives an answer: for reverse you press and hold the button as long as you reverse, for cruise control you simply press it only once shortly. So adding a capacitor and a resistor does the magic:

Code: Select all

switch
)--------------+
               |
Input cruise   |
)--------------+
               |
              +++
              | | ≥500 Ohm
              +++
Input reverse  |
)--------------+
               |
               = 220uF
Ground         |
)--------------+
Enjoy

Post Reply