Page 45 of 48

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Posted: Aug 29 2020 6:15am
by nardcox
I've been testing this morning. 27 pole pairs and -60 hall angle. This works very nicely and it's very smooth, also with load.

I've changed some settings just to be on the safe side.
Setting 1
Busbar current: 50A
Phase current: 4000
Setting 2
Current-Limiting(A): 50

Before I sometimes had the issue if I was getting more up to speed like 40 to 50 kmph it suddenly 'cut-off' and started full regenmode almost locking up the rear wheel. Don't know if the BMS did this or the controller. Also limited the current in the BMS to 50A.

Some question, in which mode is the controller?
https://photos.app.goo.gl/UWKPPbwM6UKwpcNo9
I would say 'mid' based on Display PRNDS? Does that mean I'm limited to 60% like on settings page 2?
What are the next steps to 'tweak'? Is there anything I should check while driving / direct after driving?
I only drove up and down the street a few times so no longer distances or anything but everything was cool to the touch (as to be expected).

EDIT: Did some more runs. Everytime I'm getting around 45kmph the engine brake kick in hard. Also when i'm not accelerating hard but more gradually. I've upped the amps to 100 as well but that didn't help.

For the motors sake I think I should keep the it at like 40A, because the stock setup allows 50A*60V/72V=42A = 3kw.

EDIT: Also see speed limit at 37%, might turn that off to see if it impacts my cutoff at 45kmph.
EDIT: Speed limit didn't change anything.

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Posted: Aug 29 2020 10:56am
by j bjork
Disable HDC and try

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Posted: Aug 30 2020 3:00am
by nardcox
j bjork wrote:
Aug 29 2020 10:56am
Disable HDC and try
No luck unfortunately. At 49kmph is start regen very hard.
https://photos.app.goo.gl/qAdA7Tu2npqSpcEdA

I'm starting to see the benefit of bluetooth more and more. Everytime I have to drive back to my start point, hook up the cable, start the program, connect, etc. Would be very cool if I could just do that via my phone.

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Posted: Aug 31 2020 10:19am
by Colomka
I am assembling a battery for a motorcycle and thinking about which battery to collect 72v 50-60ah or 60v 100ah. And the question is whether the controller will open from 60v to 100%?

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Posted: Sep 02 2020 11:23pm
by Arckelaus
Hi guys..
I have Votol Em-100 controller for my folding bike (60v 20ah Battery with 10inch 48v 800w BLDC)

i have problems with my controller,.
my controller can't connect to computer,. it can connect before and doing good for settings(tested for drive also),.

its start showing "Communication Abnormal, no response" since I download "*.ini" file in 'Open File'
its supposed to be happened in "Import Param" (Config *.ini file) not in "open file" (that used for *.bin File)

the controller still on,. but not responding,.
can anyone help me, and tell me what to do?

thanks before :D

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Posted: Sep 03 2020 1:16am
by j bjork
Kotov.aleksander wrote:
Mar 05 2020 1:19pm
Maybe someone will be useful.
I found a file describing the procedure for calibrating the motor
20200207.docx
Very useful, but where does it come from? What I really wonder is can there be more of these kind of documents for different fixes?

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Posted: Sep 03 2020 1:19am
by j bjork
Arckelaus wrote:
Sep 02 2020 11:23pm
Hi guys..
I have Votol Em-100 controller for my folding bike (60v 20ah Battery with 10inch 48v 800w BLDC)
Is it usually 9600 and no can?
It depends on what controller you have, but my em150sp is 115200 and can.
Is it com3? It looks like that is what you selected.

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Posted: Sep 04 2020 4:27pm
by nardcox
Colomka wrote:
Aug 31 2020 10:19am
I am assembling a battery for a motorcycle and thinking about which battery to collect 72v 50-60ah or 60v 100ah. And the question is whether the controller will open from 60v to 100%?
Those are the different setups:
72v * 60Ah = 4,32
60v * 100Ah = 6,00
The equivelant 72v of a 60v100Ah is 83Ah.
Generally speaking: better more voltage and lower Ah to reduce amp draw.


Does anyone have any idea's suggestions regarding my 49kmph max? What could be casing the bike to hit regen so aggressively?
Also switched the "detauilt gear" to "hige" as suggested by QS but didn't solve the problem.

I also noticed tonight that sometimes the motor doesn't sound "happy", like some wrong settings where selected.

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Posted: Sep 10 2020 8:26am
by nardcox
Nobody?

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Posted: Sep 10 2020 11:20am
by j bjork
I have only had that problem when I tried to use HDC.
But I also have HHC in my program, in yours it isn't there.
Maybe try a different program to make sure that it isn't on?

But you also say the motor doesn't sound good sometimes, maybe some motor settings is wrong?

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Posted: Sep 10 2020 10:18pm
by gbeals
45 pages on Votol Controller - NICE! Sadly I'm still stuck at step one. :(

I have a EM-150 + QS3000 Mid-drive motor

I'm only trying to do a bench test to see the motor spin. I'm not fully set up to test as I don't have a battery, so I'm improvising with my 40v trimmer batter I have.

Hall connector connected
B+ hooked to + Battery terminal
B- hooked to - Battery terminal
E-loc purple gray from Main L1 Connector
I Have my throttle hooked up Pink to REd (throttle has red), Green to Green, Black to Black (if I hook up the other two wires I do see my voltage on my throttle.

I twisted the throttle and nothing. Am I missing something? Is my 40v batter just not enough? This is a bench test with zero load. I have not started to hook the controller up to the computer yet as I figured step 1 should be working before I dive into the controller if that matters?

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Posted: Sep 11 2020 12:04am
by j bjork
I think step 1 is to get connection with the computer to check the settings, then try to get the motor to run.
How should anyone know if 40v is enough without knowing your lvc?

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Posted: Sep 11 2020 9:16am
by nardcox
j bjork wrote:
Sep 10 2020 11:20am
Maybe try a different program to make sure that it isn't on?

But you also say the motor doesn't sound good sometimes, maybe some motor settings is wrong?
Which one? I'm using:
votol new 2019082254162001
EM50 EM100 EM150 without CAN BUS
VOTOL-EM-V3 Software Debugging(IO19).exeWhich one? I'm using:
votol new 2019082254162001
EM50 EM100 EM150 without CAN BUS
VOTOL-EM-V3 Software Debugging(IO19).exe

Maybe some motor settings are wrong but I don't know which ones.. I've just tried opening the motor but didn't success, only tried a few minutes, unscrewed all the screens and tried to 'pull' the cover off.

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Posted: Sep 11 2020 11:41am
by gbeals
j bjork wrote:
Sep 11 2020 12:04am
I think step 1 is to get connection with the computer to check the settings, then try to get the motor to run.
How should anyone know if 40v is enough without knowing your lvc?
LvC, wouldn't I need to connect to the controller to know that? I was under the impression I didn't have to hook up to the computer to test things first. I will start with the computer connection tonight and go from there.

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Posted: Sep 11 2020 12:21pm
by j bjork
Mine looks like this:

Image

Image

There is a link in this thread to the different programs, that is how I found them.

Posted: Sep 11 2020 5:30pm
by nardcox
j bjork wrote:
Sep 11 2020 12:21pm
Mine looks like this:
Yeah, saw that version to, just thought it was for the 'Sport' models.
Anyway, tried that software, seems to work just fine.
Both options however where turned off, will give it a quick spin tomorrow to see if anything changed.

As for the hall shift angle. I always read -120, -60, 0, 60 and 120.
The -60 is the only one working properly, but for fun I've tried -30 and that seems to work as well.
My question: is it always one of the aforementioned 5 settings or can we use 30, 45 or whatever as well?
Question 2: how did you guys now the settings for your motors? Trial and error or are those givin / did you measure it somehow?

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Posted: Sep 11 2020 8:25pm
by booth
Need help , i can not clear fault code 0002 "overcurrent" i reset controller fault code is disappear but when i push the throttle fault code that show it again.

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Posted: Sep 12 2020 3:00am
by nardcox
How much current do you pull then? Can't imagine it being more than 120A as per your settings.
Does the error come when you pull the throttle or when you release the throttle (regen)?

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Posted: Sep 12 2020 8:12am
by booth
nardcox wrote:
Sep 12 2020 3:00am
How much current do you pull then? Can't imagine it being more than 120A as per your settings.
Does the error come when you pull the throttle or when you release the throttle (regen)?
-I test only motor(No load)
-error occur when i pull throttle.

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Posted: Sep 15 2020 4:51pm
by gbeals
This is my take #2 as my approach was incorrect the first go around.

I now have my laptop and controller talking. I used the links in this thread for the 2020 Votol Controller software. The PL2303 software recognized my USB with no issue. I then loaded the EM_v3_Sport Software. Followed the manual to connect to the controller and was successful. Although everything stated it was connected and could see numbers now populate the screens where as before everything was blank. I further confirmed my connection my manually spinning the motor and could see the RPM change on screen!

I have the EM-150 Controller with a QS3000 Motor. I'm currently using a 40VLithium 4ah Battery for my testing - I'm not sure if this is possible or not - I do see a under voltage error on Display page. I'm looking to do a bench test with zero load to the motor to ensure everything is working properly. I did review the manual but I was not able to determine the proper settings for my components.

My issue is I have no understanding on what my settings should be; I did look for the PARK setting and see that is not enabled. I currently have my throttle hooked up per the manual. I see the voltage on the my throttle. I have the e-loc (gray/purple) connected to B+, nothing occurs when using the throttle. I'm quite positive it is my settings so have not moved beyond this point. Also to note I have the EM 150 but when connected it shows the EM100 and continues to change itself to EM100.

Here are my screen shots of each page; Any help would be greatly appreciated. I do plan on having a 72v battery built, but not certain on my needs just yet. Thanks in advance for any help provided.

Image
Image
Image
Image
Image

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Posted: Sep 17 2020 5:40am
by j bjork
Strange that it is showing 0v, but if you try to run it on 40v maybe you should set your lvc lower than 40v?

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Posted: Sep 18 2020 8:03am
by Overclocker
em1boo2.jpg
em1boo2.jpg (38.47 KiB) Viewed 426 times
em1boo.jpg
em1boo.jpg (63.54 KiB) Viewed 426 times

what's the max "safe" boost current for em100?

and how the heck do you tell if you've got an em100 or em100s ? or em100sp :roll:

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Posted: Sep 19 2020 8:38pm
by gbeals
j bjork wrote:
Sep 17 2020 5:40am
Strange that it is showing 0v, but if you try to run it on 40v maybe you should set your lvc lower than 40v?
Updated the software to a newer link and this issue of 0v showing is now resolved. Also no more fault code. Motor moves up to 1600rpm where I hear a noise. I stopped testing; figure something is up with my settings. I posted a video to see if the sound is known....


Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Posted: Sep 21 2020 11:58am
by SilentEnduro
gbeals wrote:
Sep 19 2020 8:38pm
j bjork wrote:
Sep 17 2020 5:40am
Strange that it is showing 0v, but if you try to run it on 40v maybe you should set your lvc lower than 40v?
Updated the software to a newer link and this issue of 0v showing is now resolved. Also no more fault code. Motor moves up to 1600rpm where I hear a noise. I stopped testing; figure something is up with my settings. I posted a video to see if the sound is known....

is hall shift angle correct?

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Posted: Sep 21 2020 4:14pm
by nardcox
Still don't have the bike running. Will try and make a video of how the motor sounds sometimes. It keep of feels like there is a slip diff inside and it doesn't grasps immediately. I've briefly tried opening the motor without luck, also got feedback from SuperSoco saying they don't know and even if they did don't release that kind of data...