Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

General Discussion about electric vehicles.
User avatar
smotors   10 mW

10 mW
Posts: 25
Joined: Jan 03 2021 9:08am
Location: Zaporizhzhya
Contact:

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by smotors » Jan 24 2021 2:58am

This can be the Hall angle and the correct connection of the phase and hall wires. You can try changing the alternation.

User avatar
smotors   10 mW

10 mW
Posts: 25
Joined: Jan 03 2021 9:08am
Location: Zaporizhzhya
Contact:

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by smotors » Jan 24 2021 3:25am

I want to make the correct settings. what do these parameters mean in each window? how do they work?
2.jpg
2.jpg (88.99 KiB) Viewed 343 times

rbarrow   1 mW

1 mW
Posts: 11
Joined: Jan 03 2021 11:58pm

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by rbarrow » Jan 24 2021 11:21pm

smotors wrote:
Jan 24 2021 3:25am
I want to make the correct settings. what do these parameters mean in each window? how do they work?
2.jpg
I do not know what F, U, and D are, but i have figured out the others through testing. IO sets up the assigned function/wire for Output only, like the hall or RPM line. The SW sets the assigned function/wire for a Jog function, such as a button on a throttle moving from Low to High with a momentary switch. The LA is an inverted signal command for the line. This is useful if you have an active high brake. If you selected them all, you would have an inverted, output, that Jogs. These settings are used to setup regen, low brake, cruise, anti-theft, single button switching, temperature sensor and various other functions (like 50 things) and configure the I/O of almost all the wires (with the exception of the halls)

I have a lot of this controller figured out with the exception of the calibration and field weakening setup. i am mostly through an entire new manual that I will release for feedback in about a week or two. Then, perhaps some guidance from the group can fill in the gaps.

Russ

User avatar
smotors   10 mW

10 mW
Posts: 25
Joined: Jan 03 2021 9:08am
Location: Zaporizhzhya
Contact:

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by smotors » Jan 25 2021 12:55am

Thank You. This is important information.

M.Huzaifa   1 µW

1 µW
Posts: 2
Joined: Jan 25 2021 7:41am

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by M.Huzaifa » Jan 25 2021 8:06am

Hi guys,

I have bought Votol EM-100 controller with QS-2000W mid-drive motor. Today while I was working with my controller I successfully connected my Controller with my PC using PL2303Module. Display window was showing Real time Voltages etc. I also downloaded bin files to Controller couple of times, everything was fine. But suddenly after 2-3 hours I lost communication between PC and Controller, and now whenever I try to connect with my Controller this message appears "Communication Abnormal, no response".

Please help me if you have any idea about the issue. Please note that I have checked the wiring and have also replaced PL2303 module, but the issue is still there.

Thanks
Attachments
Communiction Abnormal Issue.jpg
Communiction Abnormal Issue.jpg (102.62 KiB) Viewed 308 times

User avatar
smotors   10 mW

10 mW
Posts: 25
Joined: Jan 03 2021 9:08am
Location: Zaporizhzhya
Contact:

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by smotors » Jan 25 2021 9:51am

...the connection between key lock and B+ is it really good?

rbarrow   1 mW

1 mW
Posts: 11
Joined: Jan 03 2021 11:58pm

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by rbarrow » Jan 25 2021 3:59pm

M.Huzaifa wrote:
Jan 25 2021 8:06am
Hi guys,

I have bought Votol EM-100 controller with QS-2000W mid-drive motor. Today while I was working with my controller I successfully connected my Controller with my PC using PL2303Module. Display window was showing Real time Voltages etc. I also downloaded bin files to Controller couple of times, everything was fine. But suddenly after 2-3 hours I lost communication between PC and Controller, and now whenever I try to connect with my Controller this message appears "Communication Abnormal, no response".

Please help me if you have any idea about the issue. Please note that I have checked the wiring and have also replaced PL2303 module, but the issue is still there.

Thanks
This happens to me when I have an issue with the motor (like an unloaded runaway) in the Calibration page. You need to power down the controller and remove it from Voltage. Then allow it to discharge for a period of time (at least 10 minutes). What is most likely happening is that the controller is stuck in a loop and will no longer respond to commands from the serial port. A complete power down restores communication every time for me.

Russ

GianlucaO   100 mW

100 mW
Posts: 47
Joined: Sep 23 2019 3:14pm

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by GianlucaO » Jan 25 2021 4:56pm

today i got the battery (72v) and i connected the controller and the motor for the first time. But it doesn't work ... I connected to the controller B +, B- and the three motor phases, the Hall cables, and a lead from battery positive to "e-lock". I connected an accelerator but nothing works. I then tried to connect via USB the cotroller to the PC and it recognizes me, but as EM-100, but in reality it is an EM-150SP (canbus version). I tried to use the remote control from PC to speed up but it doesn't work. What can I do and what can I check to make the controller and motor work? Also, how can I verify that it is really an EM-150 and not an EM-100? Thanks.

This is a screenshoot
100.PNG
100.PNG (52.73 KiB) Viewed 286 times

GianlucaO   100 mW

100 mW
Posts: 47
Joined: Sep 23 2019 3:14pm

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by GianlucaO » Jan 25 2021 4:57pm

M.Huzaifa wrote:
Jan 25 2021 8:06am
Hi guys,

I have bought Votol EM-100 controller with QS-2000W mid-drive motor. Today while I was working with my controller I successfully connected my Controller with my PC using PL2303Module. Display window was showing Real time Voltages etc. I also downloaded bin files to Controller couple of times, everything was fine. But suddenly after 2-3 hours I lost communication between PC and Controller, and now whenever I try to connect with my Controller this message appears "Communication Abnormal, no response".

Please help me if you have any idea about the issue. Please note that I have checked the wiring and have also replaced PL2303 module, but the issue is still there.

Thanks
click on "CAN enable", that's how it worked for me

User avatar
smotors   10 mW

10 mW
Posts: 25
Joined: Jan 03 2021 9:08am
Location: Zaporizhzhya
Contact:

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by smotors » Jan 25 2021 10:57pm

GianlucaO wrote:
Jan 25 2021 4:56pm
...
This is a screenshoot

100.PNG
..look in the window "Display" the state "Fault display", and why in the right additional window You have a check for "reverse" ?

M.Huzaifa   1 µW

1 µW
Posts: 2
Joined: Jan 25 2021 7:41am

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by M.Huzaifa » Jan 26 2021 2:31am

Hi,

I successfully connected to my controller yesterday. But I can't right now. I believe I have downloaded some wrong files into the controller. Is there any way to reset EM-100 to its factory setting? Please help if you know any connection or button which can reset it to default settings.

Thanks.

GianlucaO   100 mW

100 mW
Posts: 47
Joined: Sep 23 2019 3:14pm

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by GianlucaO » Jan 26 2021 7:06am

smotors wrote:
Jan 25 2021 10:57pm
GianlucaO wrote:
Jan 25 2021 4:56pm
...
This is a screenshoot

100.PNG
..look in the window "Display" the state "Fault display", and why in the right additional window You have a check for "reverse" ?
"hall fault", the vendor says it represents the throttle fault. it's correct?

but sometimes it doesn't give error, see the two screenshoot of page "display"
p1.PNG
p1.PNG (58.01 KiB) Viewed 256 times
p2.PNG
p2.PNG (64.98 KiB) Viewed 256 times
p3.PNG
p3.PNG (54.91 KiB) Viewed 256 times
p4.PNG
without fault code
p4.PNG (56.26 KiB) Viewed 256 times
p5.PNG
p5.PNG (62.52 KiB) Viewed 256 times
p6.PNG
p6.PNG (56.57 KiB) Viewed 256 times


If I change the accelerator "low protection" voltage, the error also changes, "fault code" becomes 280, 200, 80. it depends on the value I set and the engine never works when the accelerator is turned. If I disconnect the throttle, the error remains, and checking the throttle from the PC, the engine still does not work.

this is my wiring connection on controller, and Hall Sensor connector, and B+ and B- from battery
cablaggio.PNG
cablaggio.PNG (32.57 KiB) Viewed 256 times

j bjork   10 kW

10 kW
Posts: 894
Joined: Aug 31 2018 3:01pm
Location: Linköping, Sweden

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by j bjork » Jan 26 2021 7:41am

For me hall fault has always been throttle at least, but I have an older controller. What voltages do you get when you measure between signal and ground?

GianlucaO   100 mW

100 mW
Posts: 47
Joined: Sep 23 2019 3:14pm

Re: Controller Votol EM-100 ed EM-150

Post by GianlucaO » Jan 26 2021 10:36am

j bjork wrote:
Jan 26 2021 7:41am
For me hall fault has always been throttle at least, but I have an older controller. What voltages do you get when you measure between signal and ground?
between signal and ground is from 9,7mV to 9,8mV
between ground and pink (+5V) is 5,97V

j bjork   10 kW

10 kW
Posts: 894
Joined: Aug 31 2018 3:01pm
Location: Linköping, Sweden

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by j bjork » Jan 26 2021 1:13pm

Then you have a problem. For starters it dosent even reach your low protect value. Did you try no throttle and full throttle?

Are you using a potetiometer throttle like domino or magura? In that case you probably need to add resitors in line with the + and - to get some offset. Otherwise your 0 throttle will be 0V and full throttle 5,5V
Last edited by j bjork on Jan 26 2021 1:21pm, edited 1 time in total.

Paulflieg   10 mW

10 mW
Posts: 29
Joined: Jan 11 2019 10:30am

Re: Controller Votol EM-100 ed EM-150

Post by Paulflieg » Jan 26 2021 1:21pm

GianlucaO wrote:
Jan 26 2021 10:36am
j bjork wrote:
Jan 26 2021 7:41am
For me hall fault has always been throttle at least, but I have an older controller. What voltages do you get when you measure between signal and ground?
between signal and ground is from 9,7mV to 9,8mV
between ground and pink (+5V) is 5,97V
Measure signal to earth (connected) no / full throttle! Set based on these values. Your values ​​look good for a hall throttle grip. It looks like you are in park mode .....PC15

User avatar
smotors   10 mW

10 mW
Posts: 25
Joined: Jan 03 2021 9:08am
Location: Zaporizhzhya
Contact:

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by smotors » Jan 26 2021 1:47pm

...it probably is. I had a similar case.

GianlucaO   100 mW

100 mW
Posts: 47
Joined: Sep 23 2019 3:14pm

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by GianlucaO » Jan 26 2021 4:13pm

Now appeared a new errore "undervoltage" doh :(

GianlucaO   100 mW

100 mW
Posts: 47
Joined: Sep 23 2019 3:14pm

Re: Controller Votol EM-100 ed EM-150

Post by GianlucaO » Jan 26 2021 4:22pm

Paulflieg wrote:
Jan 26 2021 1:21pm
GianlucaO wrote:
Jan 26 2021 10:36am
j bjork wrote:
Jan 26 2021 7:41am
For me hall fault has always been throttle at least, but I have an older controller. What voltages do you get when you measure between signal and ground?
between signal and ground is from 9,7mV to 9,8mV
between ground and pink (+5V) is 5,97V
Measure signal to earth (connected) no / full throttle! Set based on these values. Your values ​​look good for a hall throttle grip. It looks like you are in park mode .....PC15
No gas 0,85v
Full gas 4,51v
Max voltage between 5v and gnd 5,35v

Its correct to put this valute?:
Low protection 0,75v
Start voltage 1,25v
The end 4,3v
High 5,4



My throttle isnt domino, Is a normal throttle for Electric bike. I used It on My old Electric scooter conversion and It works.
How i remove the parking mode pc15?

Paulflieg   10 mW

10 mW
Posts: 29
Joined: Jan 11 2019 10:30am

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by Paulflieg » Jan 26 2021 5:06pm

PC15
IO = 0, SW = 0, LA = 0, F = 1, U = 0, D = 0
1: emty_func

then param write!
Then controller off and on again! All good!

GianlucaO   100 mW

100 mW
Posts: 47
Joined: Sep 23 2019 3:14pm

Re: Controller Votol EM-100 ed EM-150

Post by GianlucaO » Jan 26 2021 5:42pm

Paulflieg wrote:
Jan 26 2021 5:06pm
PC15
IO = 0, SW = 0, LA = 0, F = 1, U = 0, D = 0
1: emty_func

then param write!
Then controller off and on again! All good!
ok, I tried but remains in "P"and it keeps giving me the "undervoltage" error but I have 83.9V measured on the battery and on the controller, but on the PC it is 0v

Paulflieg wrote:
Jan 26 2021 1:21pm
Measure signal to earth (connected) no / full throttle! Set based on these values. Your values ​​look good for a hall throttle grip. It looks like you are in park mode .....PC15
do you mean that I have to connect the accelerator (I connected before measuring, so ok) or connect the black cable to the negative of the battery like in this scheme?
gnd.PNG
gnd.PNG (41.18 KiB) Viewed 218 times

User avatar
smotors   10 mW

10 mW
Posts: 25
Joined: Jan 03 2021 9:08am
Location: Zaporizhzhya
Contact:

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by smotors » Jan 27 2021 4:55am

...additional connection is not required. There is already a connection inside the controller.

Paulflieg   10 mW

10 mW
Posts: 29
Joined: Jan 11 2019 10:30am

Re: Controller Votol EM-100 ed EM-150

Post by Paulflieg » Jan 27 2021 6:56am

GianlucaO wrote:
Jan 26 2021 5:42pm
Paulflieg wrote:
Jan 26 2021 5:06pm
PC15
IO = 0, SW = 0, LA = 0, F = 1, U = 0, D = 0
1: emty_func

then param write!
Then controller off and on again! All good!
ok, I tried but remains in "P"and it keeps giving me the "undervoltage" error but I have 83.9V measured on the battery and on the controller, but on the PC it is 0v

Paulflieg wrote:
Jan 26 2021 1:21pm
Measure signal to earth (connected) no / full throttle! Set based on these values. Your values ​​look good for a hall throttle grip. It looks like you are in park mode .....PC15
do you mean that I have to connect the accelerator (I connected before measuring, so ok) or connect the black cable to the negative of the battery like in this scheme?
gnd.PNG
You have posted pictures here that show that there is a can connection. The battery voltage is displayed!

Is that right now !?

What's your Can Adapter?

did you only have 2 wires connected? (Your picture!)

It's best to show your current screens or read a little more ... almost everything is already written here!

rienesl   1 mW

1 mW
Posts: 15
Joined: Feb 13 2020 10:28am

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by rienesl » Jan 27 2021 8:39am

I start an other attempt to get some help. But first some background:
I purchased a Hongdu TRD06Z-1631, which comes with a 10" 60V/1kW motor. In fact the stock controller is limited to 30A. I replaced the motor with a 12" 60V/2kW, I got out of a BWS sports bike. This had the effect, that the bike increased speed from 45km/h to 50km/h. To increase the speed more, I changed from 120/70R12 to 120/80R12, which (might not have been the best idea, because it required a lot of mechanical modifications to the bike, but in the end it) got the top speed up to 52km/h (all speeds are taken by GPS!). To enjoy the full power of the motor and to gain even more top speed I spend a small fortune (including the data cable, shipping, customs and you don't want to know $262) and acquired the Votol EM100S. I use gear 1, 2 and S only, having gear 1 and gear 2 limited to 30A to "simulate" the old controller and only in sports mode the the flux is activated and the full 55A the controller is able to provide are available. Unfortunately I was not able to find anything about the flux settings on the net and due to nobody replied to me how to calculate or determine those values I simply used the values shown in the user manual.
The result is horrible: In gear 2 the top speed is now 45km/h and in sports mode it is 50km/h. Despite the lower speed I have a way more high power consumption (30A Votol vs. 16A Stock @50km/h) and the motor is always emitting a high frequency noise (even) when (slow) turning - with the old stock controller it was completely silent! What did I do wrong?
Page1f.gif
Page1f.gif (20.6 KiB) Viewed 193 times
Page2f.gif
Page2f.gif (24.51 KiB) Viewed 193 times
Page3f.gif
Page3f.gif (22.75 KiB) Viewed 193 times
Display-f.gif
Display-f.gif (30.45 KiB) Viewed 193 times
More things to mention:
1) when switching from 2nd gear to S, the motor increases speed, but when switching back to 2nd and keeping the throttle turned, instead of getting slower, it increases even a bit more. Only if the bike has come to a complete standstill, the power gets limited to the 2nd gear setting again.
2) When driving and keeping throttle at a fixed position, the speed still increases very slowly for the next 20 seconds
3) When using the remote, the RPM is permanently alternating up and down about ±2.5% (about a 10 seconds cycle)

I really do hope that someone is out there, who tell me, what I did wrong, because in the current state, the driving experience is a huge step backwards compared to the 20$ stock controller.

Paulflieg   10 mW

10 mW
Posts: 29
Joined: Jan 11 2019 10:30am

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by Paulflieg » Jan 27 2021 11:04am

rienesl wrote:
Jan 27 2021 8:39am
I start an other attempt to get some help. But first some background:
I purchased a Hongdu TRD06Z-1631, which comes with a 10" 60V/1kW motor. In fact the stock controller is limited to 30A. I replaced the motor with a 12" 60V/2kW, I got out of a BWS sports bike. This had the effect, that the bike increased speed from 45km/h to 50km/h. To increase the speed more, I changed from 120/70R12 to 120/80R12, which (might not have been the best idea, because it required a lot of mechanical modifications to the bike, but in the end it) got the top speed up to 52km/h (all speeds are taken by GPS!). To enjoy the full power of the motor and to gain even more top speed I spend a small fortune (including the data cable, shipping, customs and you don't want to know $262) and acquired the Votol EM100S. I use gear 1, 2 and S only, having gear 1 and gear 2 limited to 30A to "simulate" the old controller and only in sports mode the the flux is activated and the full 55A the controller is able to provide are available. Unfortunately I was not able to find anything about the flux settings on the net and due to nobody replied to me how to calculate or determine those values I simply used the values shown in the user manual.
The result is horrible: In gear 2 the top speed is now 45km/h and in sports mode it is 50km/h. Despite the lower speed I have a way more high power consumption (30A Votol vs. 16A Stock @50km/h) and the motor is always emitting a high frequency noise (even) when (slow) turning - with the old stock controller it was completely silent! What did I do wrong?

Page1f.gifPage2f.gifPage3f.gifDisplay-f.gif

More things to mention:
1) when switching from 2nd gear to S, the motor increases speed, but when switching back to 2nd and keeping the throttle turned, instead of getting slower, it increases even a bit more. Only if the bike has come to a complete standstill, the power gets limited to the 2nd gear setting again.
2) When driving and keeping throttle at a fixed position, the speed still increases very slowly for the next 20 seconds
3) When using the remote, the RPM is permanently alternating up and down about ±2.5% (about a 10 seconds cycle)

I really do hope that someone is out there, who tell me, what I did wrong, because in the current state, the driving experience is a huge step backwards compared to the 20$ stock controller.
Unfortunately, the posts here are not numbered ..... not helpful .... but look at page 48, there you will find your solution / s.
It is your settings on Page 2.
leave Cruise out for now.
Read!

Post Reply