Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

General Discussion about electric vehicles.
Dainel Ramon Ortega   1 µW

1 µW
Posts: 2
Joined: May 19 2019 4:38pm

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by Dainel Ramon Ortega » May 21 2019 7:22pm

want to buy a VOTOL m100. But I dont know if this box has a Bluetooth?

Best regard to all.
Quiero comprar 1caja VOTOL m100. Pero no se si tiene Bluetooth? Alguien sabe??
Agradezco cualquier respuesta.
Saludos moteros!!!!
^____^

larsb   100 kW

100 kW
Posts: 1151
Joined: Dec 10 2014 5:12am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by larsb » May 21 2019 9:27pm

There's no bluetooth in this controller.
Ride on :D

User avatar
kebekua   10 mW

10 mW
Posts: 33
Joined: Jan 19 2016 1:19am

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by kebekua » Jun 07 2019 7:48pm

It doesnt seem like it a has variable regen function, does it?
''Power is not a means, it is an end.'' O'Brien, 1984

larsb   100 kW

100 kW
Posts: 1151
Joined: Dec 10 2014 5:12am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by larsb » Jun 08 2019 1:53am

Haven't tried it but there seems to be regen, check chapter 4.5 in the manual
Ride on :D

Yadian   1 µW

1 µW
Posts: 3
Joined: May 18 2019 8:27am

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by Yadian » Jun 12 2019 9:53am

hello friends I have a brushless votol driver em- someone has information on this driver that can help me identify the wires by their colors

Rs.Anton   1 mW

1 mW
Posts: 18
Joined: May 04 2018 5:03am

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by Rs.Anton » Jun 18 2019 6:51am

Hello guys!
I'm about to recieve qs3000 and em150 controller it should be 72v version. After reading connection diagram and manual could some clarify for me some questions Please.
So from qs factory controller is preconfigured for 20s 72v battery? For fast test i could just plug and ride, or i would still need to enter some settings?
What if i build 22s battery, in settings i still enter 72v and for over voltage it would be 92.4(max charge)? 4.4 dual voltage adaptive function set to high?
About connectors.
In throttle connector what is high brake and isdn? What is low brake, is it regen activates with ground?
Reverse connects with ground to activate?
In three speed connection what does parking do?
Thank you!

larsb   100 kW

100 kW
Posts: 1151
Joined: Dec 10 2014 5:12am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by larsb » Jun 20 2019 11:20am

Rs.Anton wrote:
Jun 18 2019 6:51am
So from qs factory controller is preconfigured for 20s 72v battery? For fast test i could just plug and ride?

yes (for 72V controller) and yes

What if i build 22s battery, in settings i still enter 72v and for over voltage it would be 92.4(max charge)?

92V is not guaranteed to work with the mosfets and caps even though they are likely rated for 100V, you can risk blowing the controller

About connectors.
In throttle connector what is high brake and isdn?

there are no high brake and isdn in throttle connector, they are all separate connectors. High brake is battery voltage output to drive a full battery voltage light.
I think ISDN is output signal for speedometer


What is low brake, is it regen activates with ground?
yes

Reverse connects with ground to activate?
yes
In three speed connection what does parking do?

I guess throttle gives zero response, this pin is not wired in my controller, probably not in yours either. I think you need to look at wiring diagram on first page of thread "EM controller wiring.pdf" to see what i mean
Ride on :D

Rs.Anton   1 mW

1 mW
Posts: 18
Joined: May 04 2018 5:03am

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by Rs.Anton » Jun 27 2019 12:42pm

Thank you! As i understand controller max phase amp is 470a what is factory settings for phase and battery amps?

larsb   100 kW

100 kW
Posts: 1151
Joined: Dec 10 2014 5:12am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by larsb » Jun 28 2019 10:43am

It's set at max nominal 120A battery and
9960 phase (phase amp parameter setting and i guess this is also max nominal at 380A..)

Votol doesn't seem to sell the "S" version anymore, now it's called "EM150-SP" by QS

Difference is below (new/old):
image.png
image.png
So it "only" delivers 380A phase now. That's actually not enough to get the 56Nm that the motor is speced to do as max torque.
Last edited by larsb on Jul 20 2019 1:05pm, edited 1 time in total.
Ride on :D

Rs.Anton   1 mW

1 mW
Posts: 18
Joined: May 04 2018 5:03am

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by Rs.Anton » Jul 01 2019 7:26am

Just got controller and motor it is 150 P version do you think it has different parameters? Can not find manual on it

larsb   100 kW

100 kW
Posts: 1151
Joined: Dec 10 2014 5:12am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by larsb » Jul 01 2019 2:08pm

It's the same. Have one of these also and there is no difference in original settings on mine
Ride on :D

User avatar
MJSfoto1956   10 kW

10 kW
Posts: 627
Joined: Jul 28 2010 9:28pm
Location: Boston, MA

How to add a 6-pin Cycle Analyst (CA) adapter to a VOTOL EM-150 Controller

Post by MJSfoto1956 » Jul 14 2019 5:10pm

How to add a 6-pin Cycle Analyst (CA) adapter to a VOTOL EM-150 Controller:

1.) open the unit and solder two wires to the + and - of the shunt (see photo)
IMG_8502.1280.jpg

2.) drill a hole in the cover and insert a rubber grommet
3.) thread the two wires (white and blue in my case) through the grommet leaving plenty of slack so that you can open/close the cover in the future.
IMG_8508.jpg

4.) splice the following wires as shown in the diagram
5.) bundle the six wires into a 6-pin JST PM connector in the order shown.
slice2.jpg
slice2.jpg (408.9 KiB) Viewed 498 times

6.) close up the unit and enjoy

IMMY   1 mW

1 mW
Posts: 10
Joined: Jan 08 2019 5:39am

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by IMMY » Jul 20 2019 5:36am

Hello friends,

Currently, i am working on speedometer connections with votol em100 controller. Everything is working fine except i am not getting speed on meter. I have connected controller white wire with speedometer but it is showing 0 kmph.
I am using http://cnqsmotor.com/en/article_read_807.html this meter. Please suggest what i need to do to get the speed.

larsb   100 kW

100 kW
Posts: 1151
Joined: Dec 10 2014 5:12am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by larsb » Jul 20 2019 6:34am

Did you connect power and ground etc? Is the speedometer powered and ON?
Ride on :D

User avatar
MJSfoto1956   10 kW

10 kW
Posts: 627
Joined: Jul 28 2010 9:28pm
Location: Boston, MA

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by MJSfoto1956 » Jul 20 2019 7:08am

IMMY wrote:
Jul 20 2019 5:36am
I am using http://cnqsmotor.com/en/article_read_807.html this meter.
I too am interested in this speedometer console -- bookmarked.

M

Note: see my post later in the thread that shows how to wire a speedometer.
Last edited by MJSfoto1956 on Jul 23 2019 3:53pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
eee291   10 kW

10 kW
Posts: 946
Joined: Nov 05 2015 4:35pm
Location: Austria, Burgenland

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by eee291 » Jul 20 2019 7:26am

Did you check to see if you get a voltage pulse reading when you turn the Motor? (From the speedometer wire on the Controller)
Maybe you need to take a direct wire to one of the halls.

I'm just guessing here TBH, I was planning to buy that LCD at first but decided to stick with the Analog one for now.

larsb   100 kW

100 kW
Posts: 1151
Joined: Dec 10 2014 5:12am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by larsb » Jul 20 2019 10:48am

There's a setting in the program that needs to be ticked to get a hall signal from the controller.
image.jpeg
image.jpeg (121.73 KiB) Viewed 441 times
Ride on :D

User avatar
MJSfoto1956   10 kW

10 kW
Posts: 627
Joined: Jul 28 2010 9:28pm
Location: Boston, MA

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by MJSfoto1956 » Jul 20 2019 10:55am

larsb wrote:
Jul 20 2019 10:48am
There's a setting in the program that needs to be ticked to get a hall signal from the controller.
image.jpeg
I get what "Hall speedometter" is supposed to mean, but what the heck is "One-lin" supposed to mean? :P

M

larsb   100 kW

100 kW
Posts: 1151
Joined: Dec 10 2014 5:12am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by larsb » Jul 20 2019 12:55pm

I can only guess at LIN communication. Not my expertise 8)
Ride on :D

IMMY   1 mW

1 mW
Posts: 10
Joined: Jan 08 2019 5:39am

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by IMMY » Jul 20 2019 1:41pm

larsb wrote:
Jul 20 2019 6:34am
Did you connect power and ground etc? Is the speedometer powered and ON?
Speedometer is powered and the other things are ON.

IMMY   1 mW

1 mW
Posts: 10
Joined: Jan 08 2019 5:39am

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by IMMY » Jul 20 2019 1:44pm

larsb wrote:
Jul 20 2019 10:48am
There's a setting in the program that needs to be ticked to get a hall signal from the controller.
image.jpeg
Is it not there by default on white wire ?? I guess that must be helpful..
Thank you

IMMY   1 mW

1 mW
Posts: 10
Joined: Jan 08 2019 5:39am

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by IMMY » Jul 20 2019 1:47pm

eee291 wrote:
Jul 20 2019 7:26am
Did you check to see if you get a voltage pulse reading when you turn the Motor? (From the speedometer wire on the Controller)
Maybe you need to take a direct wire to one of the halls.

I'm just guessing here TBH, I was planning to buy that LCD at first but decided to stick with the Analog one for now.
I didn't check it now.. i will surely check it on DSO to have more idea.

User avatar
MJSfoto1956   10 kW

10 kW
Posts: 627
Joined: Jul 28 2010 9:28pm
Location: Boston, MA

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by MJSfoto1956 » Jul 20 2019 2:59pm

larsb wrote:
Jul 20 2019 12:55pm
I can only guess at LIN communication. Not my expertise 8)
Well, "lin" in Chinese means "forest". One Forest? hmmm...

larsb   100 kW

100 kW
Posts: 1151
Joined: Dec 10 2014 5:12am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by larsb » Jul 20 2019 3:03pm

Ride on :D

User avatar
MJSfoto1956   10 kW

10 kW
Posts: 627
Joined: Jul 28 2010 9:28pm
Location: Boston, MA

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by MJSfoto1956 » Jul 20 2019 3:25pm

Ah! That explains it. Thanks. (For those on the sideline, the software app should say “DC-LIN” instead of “One-Lin” if they want to be precise.)

Post Reply