MXUS V2 3000W 3T stator

Looking for something? Need a special part, but can't find it online anywhere? Post what you need, maybe others will have it to sell. Guest may post replies to topics already here. All topics here will expire after 60 days of inactivity.
Post Reply
krombopulos_michael   1 mW

1 mW
Posts: 19
Joined: Sep 22 2017 2:04pm

MXUS V2 3000W 3T stator

Post by krombopulos_michael » Jul 17 2018 1:30pm

Have a bike already setup with a MXUS V2 3000W 4T motor but I feel the need for speed so I'm looking for a V2 3000W 3T motor that I can use to swap the 3T and 4T stators. Don't want to get the V3 model because then I would have to re-lace the new hubmotor into my motorcycle rims which is a process that i don't understand how to do. I live in USA.

User avatar
amberwolf   100 GW

100 GW
Posts: 25101
Joined: Aug 17 2009 6:43am
Location: Phoenix, AZ, USA, Earth, Sol, Local Bubble, Orion Arm, Milky Way, Local Group
Contact:

Re: MXUS V2 3000W 3T stator

Post by amberwolf » Jul 17 2018 11:00pm

All the versions are basically the same externally.

I have a v1 and a v3, ones a 3T and and the other 4T, I dont' recall which is which; the stators are interchangeable between rotors, and I think I actually have them swapped right now.

The only part that is different enough between them to need swapping with the stator is the cover, at least between v1 and 3, because the axle is a different size on one end at the cover bearing on (IIRC) the v3, where it isn't on the v1.

The v2 is probably the same as one of those, dunno which one.


Anyway, just saying that if you have to buy a whole motor, you can almost certainly swap the stator (and covers) from one into the other, from any version to any other version.

You just have to make sure you get the same axle width from dropout to dropout.


And don't crush your fingers or anything when pulling the one stator, or installing the other. ;)

krombopulos_michael   1 mW

1 mW
Posts: 19
Joined: Sep 22 2017 2:04pm

Re: MXUS V2 3000W 3T stator

Post by krombopulos_michael » Jul 18 2018 12:30pm

Oh really? Thats great to hear. I thought that since the V2 has flat magnets and the V3 has curved magnets then the stator wouldnt be able to be swapped out

User avatar
amberwolf   100 GW

100 GW
Posts: 25101
Joined: Aug 17 2009 6:43am
Location: Phoenix, AZ, USA, Earth, Sol, Local Bubble, Orion Arm, Milky Way, Local Group
Contact:

Re: MXUS V2 3000W 3T stator

Post by amberwolf » Jul 19 2018 12:49am

EDIT: actually, it looks like my older one is a V2:
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=67833&p=1237062&hil ... r#p1237062
and it's the 3T version. So that means my V3 is a 4T.

The v1 presumably also has the flat magnets, so since the stators swapped in mine ok, I'd assume the V2 would swap, too.

I don't think I even noticed the curved vs flat magnets. Let's see:
interior pics of V2 3T here:
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=67833&p=1237062&hil ... r#p1241100
Sort of looks like they're curved magnets:
Image

Pic of rotor (magnets) of V3 with the 3T (v2) stator in it:
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=67833&p=1366364&hil ... r#p1366364
the magnets look flat?
Image


Some in-the-same-shot stator pics with both v2 and v3:
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=67833&p=1314812&hil ... r#p1314812
though you can't really tell diameters/etc; AFAIK they are the same, except that for some reason the V3 has one more lamination than the V2, but as speculated then, that could simply be a manufacturing error in either one of the motors.


More posts from me about the MXUS on the trike if you need the info (includes butt-dyno comparisons in a few posts, like this one
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=67833&p=1314536&hil ... r#p1314536 )


search.php?keywords=mxus+cruiser&terms= ... mit=Search

Post Reply