Cycle Analyst v3 + phase-runner : using the throttle as regen brake ?

Get all your technical information about electric bikes here.
Post Reply
Jil   100 W

100 W
Posts: 143
Joined: Sep 07 2017 3:24pm
Location: Bordeaux, France

Cycle Analyst v3 + phase-runner : using the throttle as regen brake ?

Post by Jil » Sep 07 2020 6:46am

Hi,
Is it possible to set up a simple throttle (the one provided by Grin with the GMAC kit) only for regen braking ?
I don't need a throttle for the motor, as I prefer using a PAS.
My bike : Surly "eKrampus" with GMAC 8T, Phaserunner and 20 Ah/52 V Li-ion battery.

Nixunen   10 mW

10 mW
Posts: 29
Joined: Aug 27 2018 11:54am

Re: Cycle Analyst v3 + phase-runner : using the throttle as regen brake ?

Post by Nixunen » Sep 07 2020 12:01pm

Yes it is.

Jil   100 W

100 W
Posts: 143
Joined: Sep 07 2017 3:24pm
Location: Bordeaux, France

Re: Cycle Analyst v3 + phase-runner : using the throttle as regen brake ?

Post by Jil » Sep 08 2020 1:23am

Thanks :)
What is the procedure ?
My bike : Surly "eKrampus" with GMAC 8T, Phaserunner and 20 Ah/52 V Li-ion battery.

Jil   100 W

100 W
Posts: 143
Joined: Sep 07 2017 3:24pm
Location: Bordeaux, France

Re: Cycle Analyst v3 + phase-runner : using the throttle as regen brake ?

Post by Jil » Sep 08 2020 6:40am

Could someone help me ?
I would just like to know how to set up my Cycle Analyst (or my Phaserunner), I have found no information on Grin's documentation.
Thanks :)
My bike : Surly "eKrampus" with GMAC 8T, Phaserunner and 20 Ah/52 V Li-ion battery.

User avatar
E-HP   1 MW

1 MW
Posts: 1520
Joined: Nov 01 2018 9:20pm

Re: Cycle Analyst v3 + phase-runner : using the throttle as regen brake ?

Post by E-HP » Sep 08 2020 1:19pm

Jil wrote:
Sep 08 2020 6:40am
Could someone help me ?
I would just like to know how to set up my Cycle Analyst (or my Phaserunner), I have found no information on Grin's documentation.
Thanks :)
Sorry, I can't help, but by reading the manual, it looks like you'd set your throttle mode to disabled, and set the ebrake mode to proportional regen. Then you can tweak the brake out voltage if you want, to adjust the initial braking force. Maybe it's more complicated than that, but that's what I get from the manual.

Jil   100 W

100 W
Posts: 143
Joined: Sep 07 2017 3:24pm
Location: Bordeaux, France

Re: Cycle Analyst v3 + phase-runner : using the throttle as regen brake ?

Post by Jil » Sep 15 2020 3:26pm

Thanks !
If somebody else can propose me a solution, I take it ;)
My bike : Surly "eKrampus" with GMAC 8T, Phaserunner and 20 Ah/52 V Li-ion battery.

User avatar
ZeroEm   10 kW

10 kW
Posts: 659
Joined: May 03 2019 11:53am
Location: San Antonio, TX

Re: Cycle Analyst v3 + phase-runner : using the throttle as regen brake ?

Post by ZeroEm » Sep 15 2020 3:55pm

Page 27 of the CAS3 CycleAnalyst_V31_Web.pdf tells you have to set it up for variable regen with a throttle.

Using PAS is the way I ride my trike. I did not want to use the brake lever to activate it but is the easiest. Add a throttle and change some settings to your liking and your done.

My throttle is active above 0.5 kph, so it does not work while setting still, need to peddle first or push the trike above min speed.
do use my throttle to speed across intersections or steep hills but 99% of the time don't use it. Have not looked for a way to completely disable it. People do run two throttles one for regen only. If it's a legal thing and not temptation of using it.

Will look for a feature that disables it.

with a quick read you can set the no peddle speed to anything you want. 0 kph would disable throttle when not peddling but it would work while pedaling and over rides pas input, which the max watts would be set to max pas watts which would not give a benefit of touching the throttle. You could set it to walking speed to walk along with the bike.

There may be another work around if needed.
abundans cautela non nocet
2019 Performer E-Trike 9w/km
2013 Nissan Leaf S 7 bars 331.5w/KM

User avatar
E-HP   1 MW

1 MW
Posts: 1520
Joined: Nov 01 2018 9:20pm

Re: Cycle Analyst v3 + phase-runner : using the throttle as regen brake ?

Post by E-HP » Sep 15 2020 8:10pm

Jil wrote:
Sep 15 2020 3:26pm
Thanks !
If somebody else can propose me a solution, I take it ;)
So I guess the solution you're looking for is to have someone translate the manual into step by step instructions?

Jil   100 W

100 W
Posts: 143
Joined: Sep 07 2017 3:24pm
Location: Bordeaux, France

Re: Cycle Analyst v3 + phase-runner : using the throttle as regen brake ?

Post by Jil » Sep 16 2020 7:14am

No, thanks :)
Indeed I think that I will finally replace my old hydraulic rear brake by a mechanical one, and use a brake cut-off lever that I have in stock to activate the regen (and still keep the mechanical rear brake for emergency).
And remove the throttle.
My bike : Surly "eKrampus" with GMAC 8T, Phaserunner and 20 Ah/52 V Li-ion battery.

Post Reply