Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

General Discussion about electric vehicles.
Advait   1 µW

1 µW
Posts: 1
Joined: Feb 12 2021 11:44pm

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by Advait » Feb 12 2021 11:48pm

Hello,
Can anyone give EM-50S controller manual in English?? for parameter understanding and setup??

j bjork   10 kW

10 kW
Posts: 903
Joined: Aug 31 2018 3:01pm
Location: Linköping, Sweden

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by j bjork » Feb 13 2021 6:15am

It is posted earlier in this thread, but here are manuals etc:

http://www.siaecosys.com/list/?classid=102

I dont think there are the changes for the newer models, but there are some of that posted in the later few pages.

rienesl   10 mW

10 mW
Posts: 21
Joined: Feb 13 2020 10:28am

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by rienesl » Feb 13 2021 9:16am

Hello everyone.
I spend the whole day testing and trying with a EM35S. This thing was incredibly slow and weak. I found out several things, that have not been documentated here and I want to share my results:

First problem with that controller was, that the current was totally overrated. In other words, the system thought to run on 35A, but effectively it was 10A. After calibrating it to the correct value (on the extended page, altering "cur cal" while comparing the shown value of "Cuttent" on the "Display" page with the the value a physical amp meter is shown - best done with a DC(!) clamp meter on one of the battery wires while driving) it accelerated fine, but after I disconnected the computer, it was back to the same bad condition. It was mentioned before, that if you hit "param write", this is not valid for the whole changes you had made, but for the current page only. What I wasn't aware of is, that the changes of the extended page are saved only, if you are on the "Display" page.

However, the speed was still horrible slow. I finally decoded the 3 speeds section:

First of all, like written before, to enable 3speed, you need to enable HDC. But different that someone else wrote here, you must not enter a random, high value in "HDC lowrst speed". To determine the correct value, first disable HDC and get your motor to full throttle in sports mode on the "display" page. The shown RPM is the value you need to put into that field, because then the 3 left values of the 3 gears are simply the percentage of the maximum possible RPM

The right field of low gear limits the current of the controller in % and rounds up and down to full A.
Note 1: this setting is valid for ALL gear modes, except Sport!
Note 2:The value is depending on the specified controller current and is not related in any way to the value of Busbar current on page 1

The right field of mid seems to have no function at all - at least for me I can set it to any value between 0 and 100 and I don't see a difference (yet!)

The right field of high is a bit blurry. It seems to have an effect on the maximum possible RPM - if not limited by HDC anyway. 0 is lowest, 100 is fastest.
Important: it needs ignition on and off to take effect!!
Last edited by rienesl on Feb 13 2021 10:14pm, edited 3 times in total.

rienesl   10 mW

10 mW
Posts: 21
Joined: Feb 13 2020 10:28am

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by rienesl » Feb 13 2021 10:12am

Miguel Angel wrote:
Feb 04 2021 12:42pm
rienesl wrote:
Jan 18 2021 9:14am
My old controllers had the reverse gear and the cruise control in one button - which makes sense, due to you would never use cruise control in reverse anyway. Unfortunately the Votol does not have this setting and it does not allow to simply short circuit the two inputs; if you do it anyway, the reverse gear will always win (it seems there is a type of priority setting here in the firmware). To get around this issue, the usage pattern gives an answer: for reverse you press and hold the button as long as you reverse, for cruise control you simply press it only once shortly. So adding a capacitor and a resistor does the magic:

Code: Select all

switch
)--------------+
               |
Input cruise   |
)--------------+
               |
              +++
              | | ≥500 Ohm
              +++
Input reverse  |
)--------------+
               |
               = 220uF
Ground         |
)--------------+
Enjoy
Hello rienesl, have you tried that connection, and does it work?
Sorry, I missed your post. Yes, I am using this on a EM-35S and a EM-50S. On both it works like a charm. As I mentioned before, I am used to this behavior from other (non programmable) controllers and wanted to have this functionality back and not use 2 separate buttons. Have a look on my screenshots to get the correct settings for the ports. For the resistor a 560Ohm has been working best for MY needs, but this is something you can easily play around with (I wouldn't recommend <500 Ohm, due to this gets a very short press for cruise control and > 1kOhm, due to this makes reverse need a very long press and gets inconvenient when moving the bike)

PrashanBhatta   100 µW

100 µW
Posts: 7
Joined: Feb 11 2021 11:46pm

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by PrashanBhatta » Feb 15 2021 3:07am

Hello, my EM150 controller shows a tick mark in overheating in the display page, and it is not starting. The controller and motor both are at normal temperatures. I am using VOTOL-EM-V3 2021 version. The manual says to adjust the temperature settings but i could not find in the software I am using.
Attachments
Capture1.PNG
Capture1.PNG (23.09 KiB) Viewed 492 times
Capture2.PNG
Capture2.PNG (30.74 KiB) Viewed 492 times

Irling   1 mW

1 mW
Posts: 17
Joined: Oct 13 2020 1:19am

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by Irling » Feb 16 2021 12:07am

What do you think the display can be used to correctly display the speed, voltage and operating mode of the controller? I want to see the low average and maximum power mode, but I do not know which display will work.
also i can't find the wire for the external temperature sensor, can you help me? How to connect the motor temperature sensor to the controller?

Paulflieg   10 mW

10 mW
Posts: 31
Joined: Jan 11 2019 10:30am

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by Paulflieg » Feb 18 2021 3:26am

Temp sensor, if wired internally
Attachments
IMG_20210218_092139.jpg
Pin 5 (2x3 Plug)
IMG_20210218_092139.jpg (2.52 MiB) Viewed 401 times

Irling   1 mW

1 mW
Posts: 17
Joined: Oct 13 2020 1:19am

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by Irling » Feb 18 2021 3:57am

Thank. Unfortunately, I do not have such a wire (Apparently not every controller has an external temperature sensor

Miguel Angel   1 mW

1 mW
Posts: 15
Joined: Jan 20 2020 8:18am

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by Miguel Angel » Feb 18 2021 9:19am

Hello group, I have a dead votol em150sp controller Can not respond to the pc program please someone if anyone has the bin file of the Votol em150sp Can from Siaecosys send it to me by miguelangel891123@gmail.com thanks.

PrashanBhatta   100 µW

100 µW
Posts: 7
Joined: Feb 11 2021 11:46pm

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by PrashanBhatta » Feb 19 2021 4:49am

Paulflieg wrote:
Feb 18 2021 3:26am
Temp sensor, if wired internally
Thanks, this helped me a lot. At least I am now getting the temperature readings.
But there still is a tick mark in the overheating checkbox.
how can I set the temperature limits?

Paulflieg   10 mW

10 mW
Posts: 31
Joined: Jan 11 2019 10:30am

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by Paulflieg » Feb 19 2021 12:44pm

In calibration mode, on page 3
Attachments
IMG_20210219_184008.jpg
IMG_20210219_184008.jpg (6.63 MiB) Viewed 342 times

chronosgarage   10 W

10 W
Posts: 86
Joined: Oct 23 2020 8:19pm

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by chronosgarage » Feb 21 2021 10:57am

I have a problem with my Votol EM100 controller. When I give it a full throttle, the throttle open up just a little bit, or sometimes it starts normal for a few second and than the speed goes down to a very low speed.

My setup is qs205 2000w 72v with votol em100

I have check the throttle voltage, hall sensor voltage, all of it is in normal condition.

Could anyone help me with this issue?

Any help is appreciated....

chronosgarage   10 W

10 W
Posts: 86
Joined: Oct 23 2020 8:19pm

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by chronosgarage » Feb 21 2021 10:37pm

This morning something marvelous but mysterious happened. When I import new parameters file to the controller, all pf the sudden the bike is normal again. Even though all the parameters match the previous setting. It’s weird, but i’m glad that it all worked out.

Has anyone here ever experienced something like this before?

PrashanBhatta   100 µW

100 µW
Posts: 7
Joined: Feb 11 2021 11:46pm

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by PrashanBhatta » Feb 22 2021 12:51am

Paulflieg wrote:
Feb 19 2021 12:44pm
In calibration mode, on page 3
Could you provide me this software? because in the version I m using, there is no such setting for temperature.
Attachments
page 3.PNG
page 3.PNG (30.8 KiB) Viewed 251 times

chronosgarage   10 W

10 W
Posts: 86
Joined: Oct 23 2020 8:19pm

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by chronosgarage » Feb 22 2021 2:11am

PrashanBhatta wrote:
Feb 22 2021 12:51am
Paulflieg wrote:
Feb 19 2021 12:44pm
In calibration mode, on page 3
Could you provide me this software? because in the version I m using, there is no such setting for temperature.
I send the firmware to your email.

PrashanBhatta   100 µW

100 µW
Posts: 7
Joined: Feb 11 2021 11:46pm

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by PrashanBhatta » Feb 22 2021 2:41am

chronosgarage wrote:
Feb 22 2021 2:11am
PrashanBhatta wrote:
Feb 22 2021 12:51am
Paulflieg wrote:
Feb 19 2021 12:44pm
In calibration mode, on page 3
Could you provide me this software? because in the version I m using, there is no such setting for temperature.
I send the firmware to your email.
Thanks chronosgarage for the firmware. I want to give a last shot by changing the temperature limits before changing the firmware.

Paulflieg   10 mW

10 mW
Posts: 31
Joined: Jan 11 2019 10:30am

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by Paulflieg » Feb 22 2021 4:33am

Delete error count!
Keep shift!
Press, twice, ^!

=calibration mode
Attachments
IMG_20210222_102311.jpg
Keyb layout engl
IMG_20210222_102311.jpg (3.55 MiB) Viewed 229 times
IMG_20210222_102206.jpg
Delete error_count
IMG_20210222_102206.jpg (6.82 MiB) Viewed 229 times
IMG_20210222_102223.jpg
Hold shift, press ^ twice!
IMG_20210222_102223.jpg (2.69 MiB) Viewed 229 times

PrashanBhatta   100 µW

100 µW
Posts: 7
Joined: Feb 11 2021 11:46pm

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by PrashanBhatta » Feb 22 2021 6:24am

Paulflieg wrote:
Feb 22 2021 4:33am
Delete error count!
Keep shift!
Press, twice, ^!

=calibration mode
Thank you very much. It solved my overheating problem and the motor is running fine. yayyyyyyy!!!

chronosgarage   10 W

10 W
Posts: 86
Joined: Oct 23 2020 8:19pm

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by chronosgarage » Feb 22 2021 6:38am

Miguel Angel wrote:
Feb 18 2021 9:19am
Hello group, I have a dead votol em150sp controller Can not respond to the pc program please someone if anyone has the bin file of the Votol em150sp Can from Siaecosys send it to me by miguelangel891123@gmail.com thanks.
I already sent the firmware. But I can’t guarantee that it will work. I got it from a qs motor representative.

Irling   1 mW

1 mW
Posts: 17
Joined: Oct 13 2020 1:19am

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by Irling » Feb 23 2021 1:59am

Please help to customize the function in the picture? I want to set the "Speed limit" using the programmable buttons, but I don't know which wire to use to enable it? Does anyone know how to connect correctly? Low medium high mode is not suitable as these modes limit the torque and the speed limit function allows the maximum torque to be used with low RPM
Thanks
Attachments
speed.jpg
speed.jpg (213.18 KiB) Viewed 201 times

caseyhassanein   1 µW

1 µW
Posts: 1
Joined: Feb 23 2021 6:04am

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by caseyhassanein » Feb 23 2021 6:10am

my electric scooter is stuck on slow speed the speedometer does not show speed selector using vetol with number jl01806a please i need help even to just get it moving

chronosgarage   10 W

10 W
Posts: 86
Joined: Oct 23 2020 8:19pm

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by chronosgarage » Feb 23 2021 7:42pm

rbarrow wrote:
Jan 24 2021 11:21pm
smotors wrote:
Jan 24 2021 3:25am
I want to make the correct settings. what do these parameters mean in each window? how do they work?
2.jpg
I do not know what F, U, and D are, but i have figured out the others through testing. IO sets up the assigned function/wire for Output only, like the hall or RPM line. The SW sets the assigned function/wire for a Jog function, such as a button on a throttle moving from Low to High with a momentary switch. The LA is an inverted signal command for the line. This is useful if you have an active high brake. If you selected them all, you would have an inverted, output, that Jogs. These settings are used to setup regen, low brake, cruise, anti-theft, single button switching, temperature sensor and various other functions (like 50 things) and configure the I/O of almost all the wires (with the exception of the halls)

I have a lot of this controller figured out with the exception of the calibration and field weakening setup. i am mostly through an entire new manual that I will release for feedback in about a week or two. Then, perhaps some guidance from the group can fill in the gaps.

Russ
Do you know which port the brown wire that suppose to be park function is located?

rienesl   10 mW

10 mW
Posts: 21
Joined: Feb 13 2020 10:28am

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by rienesl » Feb 24 2021 8:27am

Irling wrote:
Feb 23 2021 1:59am
Please help to customize the function in the picture? I want to set the "Speed limit" using the programmable buttons, but I don't know which wire to use to enable it? Does anyone know how to connect correctly? Low medium high mode is not suitable as these modes limit the torque and the speed limit function allows the maximum torque to be used with low RPM
Thanks
You are wrong. The mode low, medium and high have absolutely no impact on torque (which I personally find horrible) and only limit the speed - and this extremely strict. You need to enable HDC and use the value determined in sports mode (if you have this, otherwise use the normal gears, which will all the same is HDC is disabled) on the display page (I have written how to do this in detail a few posts ago). Once you have determined this value, it is a simple calculation (LEFT values Only!!), but keep in mind, that the value you have entered for HDC is the theoretical top speed, which you will never get on an even road. So you still need to experiment around, but effectively you can set the speed to the km/h precisely with the mode function (I still experiment around to find a torque limiting way for the modes, but except for sports-mode and non-sports-mode I wasn't successful so far)

rienesl   10 mW

10 mW
Posts: 21
Joined: Feb 13 2020 10:28am

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by rienesl » Feb 24 2021 8:43am

Irling wrote:
Feb 16 2021 12:07am
What do you think the display can be used to correctly display the speed, voltage and operating mode of the controller? I want to see the low average and maximum power mode, but I do not know which display will work.
also i can't find the wire for the external temperature sensor, can you help me? How to connect the motor temperature sensor to the controller?
I bought one on Aliexpress. Using XYT it shows all the errors, brake, Parking mode (speed changes to P) all 3 gears (in sports mode the gears go simply off), speed, temperature, battery level, highbeam, lowbeam, indicators, odo and trip. Not sure if they allow here to set links to commercial sites, if you are interested, send me a PM

rienesl   10 mW

10 mW
Posts: 21
Joined: Feb 13 2020 10:28am

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by rienesl » Feb 24 2021 8:54am

caseyhassanein wrote:
Feb 23 2021 6:10am
my electric scooter is stuck on slow speed the speedometer does not show speed selector using vetol with number jl01806a please i need help even to just get it moving
A few more info what you did (and screenshots of your settings!!) would help a lot, because your current description fits a whole universe of reasons

Post Reply