V-twin Electric

General Discussion about electric bicycles.
sportscarpat   100 µW

100 µW

V-twin Electric

Post by sportscarpat » Mar 22 2017 11:19pm

Hi Guys,
I am new around here and am working on a new electric bike with a vintage look. I have been building gas motorized bikes for a few years now under the name Sportsman Flyer. I have developed a few different models based on early motorcycle designs, around 1918 vintage, when motorcycles still had functional pedal cranks. There were many manufacturers back then and I have been careful not to try and copy say an early Indian or Harley. What I have done is to build my own designs based on the common design practices and manufacturing techniques used at that time, while incorporating modern manufacturing methods where it makes sense, at least to me. The basic platform is called a Sportsman Flyer which uses a drop loop style frame where the large loop in the frame down tube allows room for motors, and a single speed reduction unit that shares a pedal crank system like a bicycle. Right side of the bike is the pedal side and the left side is the motor side. I have standardized the various components used on the Flyer to produce pedal only bicycles, and then gas engine packages from 80cc to 250cc.

A typical Flyer bicycle looks like this:

ImageSportsman Pedal Bike by Pat Dolan, on Flickr

A typical Flyer gas bike looks like this:

ImageBonneville Flyer by Pat Dolan, on Flickr

You'll notice the similarities between the two extremes. Both have the same basic frame style, the drop loop, and both closely follow vintage design practices. The pedal bicycle is a cruiser model while the 200cc gas bike is a board track racer.

sportscarpat   100 µW

100 µW

Re: V-twin Electric

Post by sportscarpat » Mar 22 2017 11:33pm