Cyclone 1200W commuter build

glv

10 W
This is my first ebike build. I'm a bit of a novice with bike mechanics and all these electrical details but I've turned my share of wrenches on cars over the years.

The donor bike is a Specialized Crossroads A1 with around 1500 miles on it. I've been commuting with it for years so I thought it only made sense to electrify it :twisted:

Figuring I wouldn't get another shot at this I decided to get a bigger kit than I thought I needed. Reading around here it sounds like the real power junkies are all migrating toward geared drives so I ended up discounting the hub motors. I would love to have built an RC setup with one of Matt's custom built drives, but I was nervous to jump into my first build with something that seemed so complex and that's still in active development. That left the cyclone kits, which also had the bonus of being relatively cheap.

The kit was fairly easy to pick out, but the battery vexed me for a while. Luckily I ran across laufer's build thread where he noted he also planned to build a 1200w cyclone kit and found out that Ping was working on his next generation of packs capable of 3C continuous. Ping had some available via special request so I ordered one too.

The kit was pretty easy to put together. Cyclone supplies a longer 135mm asymmetrical BB spindle with the kit, but it's for an old-style cup-and-cone BB and my bike has a more modern cartridge-style BB. It was surprisingly hard to find retrofit cups; everyone has them on backorder ATM. I managed to scrounge one up at a local shop, but I got some funny looks asking for them.

I went a little overboard on electrical connectors. The folks at powerwerx.com must love me now. I got a bunch of 45A stuff, but I had trouble getting the 10AWG wires from the controller to seat correctly. I stepped up to the big bad 75A connectors for everything. Probably overkill, but what the heck.