eeesickle - 500w Cyclone (Warning: Pic Overload)

eeesickle

100 µW
G'day all

Long time lurker, first time electric bike kit owner. Nice place here. I'll start by blaming AussieJester for 'sparking' my interest in electric bicycles. :)

I was unsure on whether to go for a hub drive (hopefully easier install), or chain drive (can use the bike's gears) for quite some time and in the end Cyclone Taiwan's current US$458 deal (http://www.cyclone-tw.com/order-A.htm) for a 500w 3 chainwheel complete kit won out. The kit arrived very quickly and, for the most part, was very well packed. The motor plug that goes to the throttle was broken, but useable.

The kit is to be fitted to my trusty, neglected, 21 speed, 10 year old, no-name Mountain Bike... Nothing too special about it, but with the combined brake and trigger shifters I can see an issue with the included bulky throttle.

DSC00581.jpg

Disclaimer - Before I go on please note, this is my first time playing with bikes, let alone e-bikes, and therefore I have absolutely no idea what I am doing. If you notice something is wrong (could be done better) from the photos, please let me know. :)

I started by using the included crank removal tool to take the cranks off. Remove the caps, undo a nut and then screw the dark piece of the crank removal tool into the crank and then tighten the chrome part up. As you tighten it more the crank will eventually come away from the shaft.

DSC00583.jpg

Next was the removal of the left side bottom bracket. I didn't have the correct tool, so I used a hammer and a screwdriver to knock the tab on the outer ring anti-clockwise to undo it. The rest pretty much undid by hand.

DSC00585.jpg

This next picture compares the new spindle with the old. I should've lined it up better, but you can see the extra length out to the left (top) side allowing clearance for the motor.

DSC00587.jpg