Custom frame for HUB MIDDRIVE_ fully

jackjetful

100 W
Finished Bike:
IMG_3672.JPG
[youtube]N6I05G5x81Q[/youtube]
[youtube]9nxg4TUhBmM[/youtube]

Hello Guys,

My name is Jacob and I live in Vienna Austria. At home I have my workshop. Since my childhood I loved to build vehicles. The first builds were all with combustion engines like go-karts, trikes, gas powered bikes … the random fun- vehicles :) ;)
During a project last year on the technical collage were I graduated, I realized how awesome E- vehicles could be. My team and I were developing a new intelligent force measuring system for electric bikes.

Here’s a video:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CiYBd66nIM0

Well in fact I love to ride downhill or endure bikes, so I started to build a random hub motor converted e- bike.

I rode my bike about two years after I decided to build another NON HUB e- bike. The problem for me was that I live in a hilly area so the Motor braked the bike when I went downhill and didn’t accelerate enough when I went uphill.

Then I converted my Hardtail to a hub motor MID DRIVE.
I used a cheap 36V 500W gearless hub motor with reduced axle:
1.jpg

Here is the motor mount:
2.jpg

Later on I also added some steel bracing to the crank.
3.jpg
After some weeks of riding this bike I found out that the frame is flexing a lot and sometimes the chain jumped out in reason of that.
I made a lot of reaserch to find the “perfect” NON HUB frame but now I think there is nearly no frame that fits perfect for a NON HUB setup.

A really god one is shown in this topic from bzhwindtalker:
http://endless-sphere.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=37805&start=30
You were even pushing 200W through this! :shock:

Now I will start to construct and build my own frame. I bought a Centurion NO POGO as a geometry reference.

bike_net.jpg