Anyone have any experience with Volton?

spisska

10 W
I'm a newb, but am convinced that e-bikes are a potential revolution in urban transport.

Since I don't have a car and my LeMond doesn't really allow much in the way of cargo or getting to a place on time in a presentable state, I've been looking into e-bikes.

A bike (e- or otherwise won't help my current commute -- I live in the Chicago but work in the far suburbs. I'm desperate for a new job, and the Loop would be about six miles each way. An e-bike would be ideal.

As it happens, in my research, I found http://www.voltonbicycles.com/.

This one in particular, I think is a fantastic design: http://www.voltonbicycles.com/boulevard-dlx/

Yes, I realize that you very clever people could build something similar for half the price, and bless you for that. The reason why I'm interested is that the guy who makes them lives about two miles from me.

I've already contacted them to make an appointment -- they don't seem to sell except online. Just wondering what experiences people have in this group with this company.

I would prefer to buy local, and a local manufacturer is way more than a local dealer.

Thanks for your feedback.

Ah, I see what you mean.

I assure you, I'm not Mr Volton, have nothing to do with them, and had never even heard of them before Friday.

I just think they make a really nice looking bike, and it's just the thing I'm looking for. I know they're based in Chicago, so I'm hoping to get myself an invitation to their workshop. I also like the idea that if anything breaks, I can pedal the thing to the company owner's house and knock on his door. (I don't actually know his address, but an article in Crain's mentioned he lives in a neighborhood a stone's throw from mine.)