Advice on hub motors

glyndwr

10 mW
Hi all,

I am a newbie to this forum but am active on various electric vehicle forums.

I have experience in battery pack building and wiring, having just self installed a 6kwh plug in hybrid kit into my gen2 prius.

I have a disabled child that uses an electric chair, and is only now starting to learn to dive by himself, he is 16 yrs old.

He has just been issued a new power chair by our local authority which is massive, he's only 6 stone in weight but the chair is over 140kg in weight without him sitting in it. It's just too big and heavy to be used practically around the home and when we are out and about shopping and visiting other poeple.

So, with this in mind I had an idea.

I can buy a used manual wheelchair very reasonably priced with the thought of putting 20" or 24" bike wheels onto it.

I can buy an old electric power chair just for the controller and joystick control.

Now, I can mod this myself, I just ned advice on what electic bike hub motors you can recommend that's not going to cost an arm and a leg, the chair only needs to go at 5 mph, the electric wheelchairs generally operate at 24v.

The chaos doesn't need massive range, so no need for big heavy batteries, in fact I already have to hand a lifepo4 lfp26650ev batteries eft over from the prius project, maybe I can someone can suggest an appropriate custom set up for these, they are 10.24 wh each cell, maybe can arrange 2 pr 3 in parallel and 8 in series to get to the 24v target, I have enough batteries to do this, but I have no design experience to see what amps would be required to propel a wheelchair at 5 mph. The cells I have have a 2c continuous rating and a 5c pulse for 30 secs.

Any help and advice on this would be fantastic, as this would give me a pretty light very manoeuvrable wheelchair that would suit most if not all of our needs.