10 speed shifters and hydraulics in ebike conversions?

Supertux1

100 W
Hello ESers!

I've got a few dumb questions. I'm kind of new to bike tech and ebiking in general, just bought my first donor bike! (It's a 29er hardtail from bikesdirect)

So I bought a bike for my build, but it's got a 10 speed SRAM X7 shifter, S7 rear derailleur and hydraulic brakes.
I'm thinking about an ebikes.ca or one of Cellman's geared MAC hubs on the rear, both of which take a 7-8 or 9 speed freewheel depending on how much I want to stretch the rear dropouts or not (it's a 6061 frame).

So the question is, can I get away with leaving the 10 speed shifter and on there with a less than 10 speed freewheel, or should I find an appropriate trigger shifter with the correct number for the hub freewheel? (eg SRAM X3 for the 7 speed). I'm thinking that things will be better indexed if I do, and if I don't there will be rough gear changes and disasters when switching into the lower 2-3 gears?

Second question, what do you do with hydraulic brakes and cut off switches for the motor that are mechanical in nature? Should I just replace one brake (say the rear one) with a mechanical pull or is there some kind of reed switch (eg BionX) that can be stuck to the hydraulic pull? (My brakes use DOT 5.1)

Why not get a Bafang CST motor that has a spline for cassette gears, so you don't have to change anything on your gears?

If you do a seach on "hydraulic Brakes", you'll find loads of solutions, but most require a bit of DIY. Magura do inline switches, which are not too expensive; however, you have to cut and bleed your brake lines. You can also buy ready-made systems from Tektro with switches already installed, but not easy to find: TEKTRO AURGIA E-SUB-F

The easiest solution is to fit a cable brake to the back with one of those in-line brake sensors:
http://www.bmsbattery.com/459-hwbs-hidden-wire-brake-sensor.html