90's Model Suzuki GSX1100 Shaft Drive

E-GSX

10 mW
I found this forum after reading about electric street bikes such as the Enerjica and Zero. I have a complete GSX1100G along with a parts bike to use for parts fitting, and after viewing a YT video where the owner converted a Honda Sabre to electric, I thought this would be an interesting project. He makes some pretty bold claims such as 145 MPH top speed and a range of 155 (mountain terrain), 175 (highway), & 190 (city) using 36 120AH batteries. So far I've been mostly lurking, but am learning more every day. Any positive commentary is welcome, as I'm brand new to this concept.

My plan is to keep the shaft drive as was done on the Sabre. I don't think I need a motor as powerful as the Netgain Hyper 9 he used, so I'm looking at what all is available. I want to avoid placing batteries where saddle bags would go, I just don't like the look. My goal at this point is to achieve similar performance (74 KW or 100 HP @ 7500, and 99NM or 73 lb-ft @4750) and a highway range of around 100 miles. My daily commute is 70 miles round trip over mostly open roads on a mildly rolling terrain at an average speed of 60-65 MPH. While I could possibly recharge at work, I don't think it will be practical since I have to park far away from buildings.

Here's some initial research:
I found a picture of the shaft drive unit taken apart. It is a splined shaft that goes to the 2.66:1 differential on the 17" rear wheel.
View attachment Shaft drive with driveshaft.webp
I'm not overly concerned at this point as to how to couple the motor to this shaft. It would need some type of cardan or u-joint to allow for rear wheel movement.

Batteries: