Critique my commute bike plan, if you please.

Rusty123

100 W
Hello - first post here. Yes, I updated my profile to reflect location (near Seattle) :wink: Below is my background and planned build - please fire away.

Me: I'm 47 years old and 205 lbs, although fairly fit, having been bike commuting to work 2 or 3 times per week (8 miles each way) for the past several years. I'm a pretty good bike mechanic, having built a few bikes from parts, built wheels, etc. I have a background as an electronics technician (many years ago), and more recently as a civil engineer. So I'm fairly competent with mechanical and electrical stuff. Also, I favor bikes that are "clean and neat". No duct tape, floppy wires, hose clamps, etc.

My commute: Pretty flat, except for a couple 8%+ climbs on the way home (see attached commute profile). I can recharge at work. Rains a lot here, so water resistant components are important.

Commute Profile (work to home).jpg

My bike: mid 80's vintage (brand unknown), non-suspension steel mountain bike. V brakes, 8 speed Mega-range cassette, triple chainring (48 tooth large), friction shifting. Front and rear racks, touring tires, fenders, Brooks saddle. Nothing fancy, but a solid, high quality bike that I've put thousands of miles on. See photo below. (Incidentally, I also have a long wheelbase recumbent, with a 26 inch rear wheel. It's possible that I would convert it too, but that's for another day).

Bicycle (1024x768).jpg