Custom smartphone App / Data logger

benj

100 W
Hey everyone,

Seeing as I make mobile apps for a living, I decided to combine my job with my hobby, and I started making a custom iPhone app and hardware for some data logging.

The overall plan is to try and make something really useful and the end goal is to open source everything talked about here :)

It all started with Apple's new iBeacon technology which I was playing with, then I glanced over at my board, and had the eureka moment. With some pretty basic tinkering, I have the following setup all working:

- Turn on my electric longboard
- It automatically wakes up your phone with a notification, and tells you the current battery voltage, charge %
- Tap the notification, and it launches the app. You can see battery stats and estimated range.
- Tap Start button, and it records your GPS route, displays it on a live map, and shows speed graph. Tap Stop and your session is saved.

So far, it's very cool. It's so great to have the phone wake up when the board is turned on :) Here are some pics:

bleShield.jpg

This picture is old - I don't use an Uno and shield anymore - see below.....
goCatApp1.PNG

The current list of hardware is super simple:
- Arduino Uno
- Red Bear BLE Shield
- A few wires

Note: As of June 2014 I ditched the Uno and Red Bear shield in favour of a LightBlue Bean. It's much smaller and hugely better!:
http://www.punchthrough.com/bean

Now comes some trickier stuff, and I'd love anyone to help and get involved. I'm no good with circuits and I think this project could benefit from someone who is!

Currently, I only measure one lipo cell through the balance plug. This is good enough for people who balance charge, but I'd love to monitor each cell and feed that back to the app.