DIY Controller w/ Android Integration

velorider562

1 µW
My buddy owns a bike shop and he recently gifted me a Faraday for my wife. My wife loves it because it looks like a bike and most importantly can now keep up on evening rides. From different reviews the Faraday has its share of problems but the implementation is really well executed. I spent the last few weeks reading posts here on Endless Sphere about others DIY eBike projects. Now that the eBike bug has bitten me I think it would be cool to convert on of our beach cruisers into a very simple eBike for errands and when friends come over. Since my other hobby is electronics I think it would be fun to create an open source controller. I was intrigued by the lack of a community supported controller. I found posts regarding reverse engineering controllers, and wire hacking with Cycle Analyst. So I ordered a few parts from Alibaba and while I waited, started designing a controller. By profession I’m a software developer in the electronic space and an avid cyclist, so this is the perfect project for my skills.