• Howdy! we're looking for donations to finish custom knowledgebase software for this forum. Please see our Funding drive thread

help me build my second e-bike

audipiglet

10 mW
Hello everyone, I have been e-biking for two years now on my cheaply made e-bike and enjoyed every minute of it, but after nearly 2000 miles it is time for an upgrade, my bike at the minute has a 750 watt motor 22 amp controller off eBay and a very heavy 36v 20ah SLA battery which gives me a top speed of about 20mph on the flat and 20 mile range, it gets me up the little hills on my way to work fine without peddling but I do help it out,

IMAG0245.jpg

These are the problems I would like to sort out for my next e-bike

The battery is far to heavy for my bike and the location is not great, I would like lifepo4 if possible not lipo because they last longer and safety, and to plug and play,
I have to adjust the v brakes and rear wheel often, mostly to do with weight of the battery and a cheap wheel
Acceleration is ok with peddling but could be better but more speed would be much better
The back roads I go on are bumpy so full suspension would be great
Brakes are not very good, my cheap back wheel is always buckled and it doesn't make it easy to set the brake up

I would like a commuter e-bike that can go about 30mph for 20 miles which requires less maintenance than my bike at the minute, I'd like to have a 48v lifepo4 battery because I can use it on my motor until I upgrade it to a better motor, I have been looking at lots of people's builds on here and I like the look of drunkskunk's monster build, looks very strong and as stealthy as can be, but a bit too powerful (and expensive) for me, I haven't seen any frames I like so I want to make my own, I am handy with a welder but not very knowledgeable with bike parts (suspension, brakes) or with batteries so any information on these areas would be great, I've rattled on enough but wanted to give you as much info I could, thanks for looking!