Motor for Electric Kicksled and Cargo Bike

Samsterism

1 µW
Hi All:

I'm glad to have found this forum and am grateful for any advice folks would care to offer. I'm not an expert in electric vehicles at all. I own one of the original eGo scooters (only about 100 made I understand) that isn't running now but that's another project.

I am hoping to build an electric kicksled using a hub motor on a 20" wheel. An additional caveat is I'd also like to use the motor/wheel on my cargo bike when the weather warms up.

My cargo bike is a Madsen:

bikes-blue-2012.jpg

An electric kicksled looks like this:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QSRXpXrG15Q

So now I have to try and figure out the best motor to buy to use on these two different vehicles. Here are some thoughts I've had:

The Madsen:
- I want a geared motor because I don't want any drag when riding the Madsen. I will mostly use the motor on local, minor hills.
- The Madsen often has close to 400 lbs of weight (me, my two kids, a friend or two, stuff)
- I don't need to ride up long tough hills often. As my kids grow up it's more likely to be just me and groceries or me and stuff with kids on their own bikes.

Kicksled Design:
- My version will be slightly different than the one in the video. I plan to put an old weight bench (not this exact bench but one like it) on a pair of skis:

uc

- The driver will stand behind the bench (where a spotter would stand if someone was bench pressing) and the hub motor/wheel will be under the bench.
- The wheel will be on a spring-loaded arm that the driver can press down into the snow with their foot - sort of like this gas-powered kicksled (though mine will have a spring that holds the motor off the snow unless you step down on the lever).

http://youtu.be/7gMmDVAhOkg?t=2m2s

- The passengers will sit on the bench (with protection between their feet and the wheel!)

Kicksled Issues

- I don't want the kicksled to be too fast. It's just for fun on snow covered streets and parks.