Mountain Bike Action Magazine/Hi Torque needs to go away!

mdd0127

100 kW
Hi Everyone,

I've been buying Mountain Bike Action for a while now to keep up with the new stuff that's coming out and a couple of their articles really got to me in the last two days. I've never written to a magazine before, muchless posted about one online, but we need to expose crap in the media when we come across it.

So, in the new issue, I read an article that made me steaming mad. I can't find a link to it online and won't recommend buying the issue but the jist of it was that bikes with big travel make people want to ride off the trails and mess things up for everyone else so they should be banned from everything but resorts or races. The idea that an internationally distributed magazine about mountain biking is suggesting that people start banning certain kinds of bikes from public trails enraged me. The people riding the bikes off the trails are the ones to blame for the environmental damage. How about an article suggesting ways to identify and educate/punish people that don't use the trails respectfully? How about a good article reminding people that's it's bad form to go out and tear up the trails when it's muddy? There are so many other ideas that need to be brought up more often because they're IMPORTANT, that the drivel about legislating what kind of bike someone should ride is infuriating.

Also, a little funny is the fact that the same issue that contains the "ban DH bikes" article contains a multi page spread showcasing all of the new gravity bikes. I wonder if the manufacturers of these bikes know how the publication feels about their "legality" on public trails. :roll:

Here's a copy of my email to the editor regarding that issue:

Hi Jim,

I just made it through the article about banning downhill type bikes on page 20 of the April edition and if the person that feels this way is working on future editions, I won't be buying them .