Phaserunner v6 and Baserunner v5 oddities

psytrout42

1 µW
Hello Folks,

This is more of an open discussion rather than a specific troubleshooting topic. I'm looking for others than have had experience with multiple generations of Grin ASI-based controllers to see if anyone else has noticed a change in the newest generation.

Backing up a bit for context. I had been running a Phaserunner V3 for a couple years, initially on a 9C clone and then on a 10T GMAC. This system is running on a 52v EM3EV battery and was rock-solid reliable in all conditions and situations. I had the system typically configured draw a max of 30A from the battery, and had the CA set to limit power to "1500w" and it would get up to those numbers when asked.

I was exceedingly happy with the system, so much so that I ponied up the bucks to outfit my wife's Cattrike 5.5.9 with a PR/GMAC combo. At that time the Baserunner V5 L10's had come out and I was going to be building the battery, so I grabbed a couple Reention DP-6C cases and controllers so this and another project would look clean and neat. Once all the components were in I eagerly got to building, and upon completion was..... immediately disappointed.

My wife had an accident 15 years ago that smashed her lower leg, and it's now full of metal parts. While being part cyborg can be interesting, it also means she cannot use that leg for any usable human power, which is why a torque'y motor is critical. She needs power off the line to make this whole thing work, and while my GMAC on the Phaserunner V3 set to 30A and 1500W had more than enough umph to smoothly launch me up to speed this system also set to 30A and 1500W did not. I know the PR and BR-L10's have different phase current limits (96 vs. 70), but this system was putting out less off the line torque than an old Baserunner Z9. It would pulse, buck, and grind from a standstill, slowly start moving, and once up to speed would then have all sorts of torque.