Removing speed regulator on specialized turbo S?

traxx14

1 µW
I'm new to ebike riding, but have spent a couple hours trying to research this topic (maybe my google searching skills are just not as good as I thought). I've also skimmed all of the threads linked here.

I'm considering getting a specialized turbo S, but find it annoying that the motor cuts off at 28mph. I did a demo ride on the bike and found there were quite a few times when I would have liked to go a bit faster (getting all the way to 28mph requires a moderate amount of pedaling force, but then getting above 28 is almost impossible because the motor cuts out). I'm new to ebikes - is there a standard way to change/hack the limiter? I was thinking if there is a procedure to tell the controller it has smaller tires than it actually has that might be an option (or maybe that's a terrible idea?)

Thanks!

The cut off is in the software, so unless you can hack it, there isn't much hope. You probably aren't missing much. The cut off is there for legal reasons at 28mph (45kph), but that kind of design isn't capable of much more speed than that anyway with the stock electronics and battery. Completely unrestricted, that type motor should run out of speed at somewhere around 28-29mph.

What if I owned a Specialized Turbo, but wanted to put smaller tires on it? Would that require buying a new controller or having it sent to the factory or something?

I've decided to give up and just keep driving a car to work and when I have to go on busy roads (which is most of the rides from where I live). I've concluded that it takes quite a bit of time/research/effort to confidently unlock the Specialized Turbo. If it's of any use for future people who are searching for something similar, this comment is from a thread on reddit: