Seeking advice on first build for my wife.

lebnjay

1 mW
Hello all, hoping to get some advice.
I am new to all this but have been reading here to try to figure things out.
My wife would like an electric assist and I'm trying to decide on the best way to proceed.
She has an early 90's trek step through chromoly steel ridgid frame mountain bike that we are fixing up to use as a commuter, grocery getter, and kid hauler.
She doesn't need to go fast, I think 20mph would be plenty, and our rides won't be very long, 20-25 miles would probably be the max.
We will be riding mostly on flat ground in Bend, OR with some minor hills, and we live up a bit of a hill about 10% grade for about 1,000ft.
Sometimes she will be pulling our young daughter in a bike trailer, sometimes with groceries as well.
We also plan on adding a front box cargo attatchment that replaces the front wheel, The Lift, currently on Kickstarter, that she will be pushing sometimes when I am not.
She would love it if the bike stayed pretty light and quiet and didn't feel much different than it does now, just was a little easier to ride, less work on the hills and a little quicker, especially with the extra weight. She would like to still pedal, and likely just use pas.
She is also not a super strong rider and generally feels a little uncomfortable getting started at stop signs, especially with the extra weight, so something that would smooth out that initial acceleration would be great.
We are also trying to keep this fairly low cost, money is a little tighter now with the little one.
Down the line I would like to build up a bit more powerful system for myself for pushing the cargo bike further and faster with more weight on my bike.