Barron Greig's Homebrew MAX11081 Based BMS

battman

1 W
Hi Folks,

Since there can never be too many different BMS implementations, I'd like to add a MAX11081 based one to the pile! At the time of writing, Googling for MAX11081 doesn't turn up much other than spec sheets, short news articles and a couple of short references of Endless Sphere, so hopefully this thread will add some useful info.

Motivation for the homebrew project: I've had bad experience with commercial BMS in the past. I was unlucky enough to purchase two that failed after a relatively short period of use. Manufacturer support was poor and it was looking like too complex a task to reverse engineer and fix them myself - I'm a software developer and have limited electronics knowledge, most of which has been picked up on the most excellent Endless Sphere.

I've used the wonderful Goodrum/ Fechter v2.6 BMS and it's been running reliably for several years in a bike now, and I've been following it's v4 development with keen interest, but I was looking for something simpler and cheaper again. What I wanted would be less feature rich of course, but would meet the basic requirements of providing LVC and HVC protection of cells and be simple enough to be built on perfboard - no need to get PCBs custom manufactured.

As far as cell balancing goes, I've had reasonable luck with cells staying in balance so I'll handle that with a cheap single cell charger and just do a manual balance every few thousand miles. Not a suitable strategy for everyone of course, particularly if cells of mixed ages and sources are used in a pack; in that case a more sophisticated BMS or more regular maintenance might be required.