• Howdy! we're looking for donations to finish custom knowledgebase software for this forum. Please see our Funding drive thread

My Build Plan: Advice?

alex220

100 µW
I am new to the ebike world! I would like to put together a bike for a fun project and to increase my knowledge of electric motors/batteries ect.

I've spent the last week on here researching as much as I can....

I would like:
around 30mph top speed
Range: Not very important to me, no commute, just fun to ride around locally.
Stealthy
Close to plug and play since i'm a novice
Cost: we will see ;)

Here is what I have on my want list so far:

Bike: Trek 4300 or similar (hardtail). I know this has been used a few times.
Or a suitable FS MTB, recommendations welcome.
Motor: MAC 8t
Batteries: Cell man 50v Samsung triangle pack 18.5 ah or 12.3 ah....
Controller: 12 Fet 3077 40a
Thumb throttle
7sp DNP 11T Freewheel
Grin Tech rear torque arm
Cycle analyst v2.3 or 3

So i want to use a triangle pack, if i get the 12.3 ah, I can only run 25-30 amps correct?
How much of a top speed diff with the 12.3 vs the 18.5?

Also, any FS bikes you can recommend that a triangle pack can fit?

Thanks so much everyone!

Kit from EM3ev is pretty much plug and play moron-proof setup (I did it, so must be.) :wink:
I have 10t motor, 50v 12.3Ah battery, running 30A through 9FET controller. Tops out ~30 mph.

My experience: A = acceleration, V = top speed. In my setup, accel is plenty brisk for general street use, and top speed is more than enough.

You'll need the bigger battery if you chose the 40 amps controller. The 10 t motor would be enough at 48v. 25 amps of 48v is enough watts to reach 30 mph.

So if you get the smaller battery, get the less amps controller.

Welcome to the forum. The Trek 4300 is a good bike, but the latest model's 8 speed rear will cause troubles. look for something with 7 speeds or less on the rear. I believe older versions used a 7 speed rear.