Battery not charging BMS voltage lower than battery total

pilotg2

10 mW
Hi guys

I'm in need of some help as I'm completely new to ebike batteries and troubleshooting them. I've learnt loads today and won't do anything I don't understand...

I have 3 48v 13ah batteries and 3 chargers. None were charging so I have opened 2 of them up.

From the BMS:
The battery voltage across the pack is 52.5 measuring B- and battery positive.
When I measure C- and the battery positive the voltage is 24.2
If I remove the balance plug with all the wires the voltage is 38.5
Currently the cell banks are around 4v each.

The charge port measures 24.2 so will not start charging.

Should the voltage after going through the BMS equal the total battery capacity? Are the above results normal?

The other battery I tore down has the same symptoms.

Attachments

• 20190228_212628-907x1612.jpg
    20190228_212628-907x1612.jpg
    260.9 KB · Views: 6,633
  • 20190228_212619-768x1365.jpg
    20190228_212619-768x1365.jpg
    279.9 KB · Views: 6,632
the bms is triggering on a fault. check your wiring and voltages of each group. measure where the plug goes into the bms to exclude a broken wire. careful you dont short the leads out. much smoke much fire much wow will result if you are not careful.

Your measurements indicate that the charge control circuit is tripped (or fried). It would trip if any cell group was above 4.3v or so.

Try measuring all the individual cell groups. If you can access the cells directly with the meter probes, that works. Otherwise, I like to measure at the BMS connector using a pair of solid strand wires. Something like this:

Single Cell Charging Hookup 2.jpg

If you find a cell group that is over 4.2V, it needs to be drained down to the level of the other cells.

The results from measuring where the connector goes into the BMS are:
9 cell banks at 4.05v
3 cell banks at 3.925v
1 cell bank at 4.13v