Chaos 1600 new batteries.

ChrisG1969

1 µW
I am new to this and have a Chaos GT1600 hub drive scooter. The lithium battery seems to be getting old and would like to replace.
New ones seem to be about £250 and i wondered if there was a cheaper option?
Maybe AGM, as these seem to be about £90 for 4 batteries that could be joined together.
Any help would be appreciated.
Many thanks.

While lead (AGM, SLA, FLA, etc) batteries might work, they will provide only about half the capacity they are rated at (since the rating is for 1/20C usage rather than the high current application (usually several times 1C) you'd be using them in. If you don't need much range, it'll probably work out.

They typically weigh about twice what a good lithium battery of the same *rated* capacity is, meaning that lead really delivers about 1/4 the capacity for the same weight. (lead that claims to be lighter usually has less current delivery capability, and/or less actual capacity, than "normal" weight lead batteries).

They will also age rapidly, often only lasting 50-100 charge cycles before losing significant capacity and capability. Ensuring you recharge as soon as you stop riding can help slow this degradation, but it is still usually rapid vs a good lithium battery.

The latter is also true of many cheap lithium batteries...In batteries, you usually pay for what you get (though you may not always get what you pay for :( ).

While lead (AGM, SLA, FLA, etc) batteries might work, they will provide only about half the capacity they are rated at (since the rating is for 1/20C usage rather than the high current application (usually several times 1C) you'd be using them in. If you don't need much range, it'll probably work out.