Leaf Bike electric conversion kit

Hi everyone, I'm very new to electric motors/bikes so bear with me. I have an old 1970 Yamaha L5 that I'm wanting to convert to electric. It's a small lightweight 90cc bike so I shouldn't need a ton of power. I'm looking at getting one of the Leaf Bike conversion kits. I don't want to have to get a degree in electrical engineering in order to build the thing so a kit seems like an easy and simple solution. My main question is about brakes. The website is pretty vague on details, so I couldn't figure out how braking works. The bike currently has a rear drum brake, which will be removed for the new wheel. Do I need to add a disk brake? Do those motors have built in braking? The kit appears to come with two brake levers, presumably for rear and (front?) brakes. I will be leaving the front drum brake as is. Also, is there any reason to choose the 2000W over the 1500W? I will just be using it to cruise around the neighborhood, run errands, and using it more like an ebike than a motorcyle (riding in bike lanes rather than in traffic, etc). I'm also open to other suggestions as far as motors and such, but I want to keep it pretty simple which is why I like the kit idea. Thanks

Hi everyone, I'm very new to electric motors/bikes so bear with me. I have an old 1970 Yamaha L5 that I'm wanting to convert to electric. It's a small lightweight 90cc bike so I shouldn't need a ton of power.
To be certain it will do what you want, and so you can buy or build the right battery for it, you'll want to know how much power maximum, and continuously, that you'll need for it. I recommend defining the specific job you need the bike to do for you, under what specific riding conditions, and then you can use that info on simulators and calculators like the motor / trip simulators at ebikes. ca (using the custom fields) to guesstimate power needs, and also wh/mile power usage (to guesstimate battery capacity required for desired range).