My Yuba Mundo v2 Build (beta)

ryan

10 kW
I built out a Yuba Mundo v2 last weekend using all the parts from my Marin Downhill Electric Mountain Climber.

photo 3.jpeg

Ingredients
  • Yuba Mundo v2
  • Crystalyte 5304 (rear)
  • 18 FET Low RDS MOSFET Overclocker Ready LYEN Controller
  • 72v20Ah (24S2P Headways)

I call this a beta build because I'm planning another build with a lighter and more middrive-friendly Yuba Mundo v3 or v4 if I like this build. Since it's my first time riding a cargo bike I didn't want go all out and discover I didn't like long tail bikes after all.

I love:
  • No trailer necessary - everyone fits on the back! (except my 5 month old... I haven't figured a safe way for that to happen yet)
  • Cargo - I fit 4 cases of beer in the back and had room for at least 2 more in the bags alone. I don't do groceries, but I do do beer runs.
  • Stealth - The "before and after" shots look nearly identical. The bags hide the motor and the batteries. Only the controller is a little conspicuous.
  • Fun - It's a lot of fun to ride. I can even sit on the rear deck and ride cruiser style (or even super man, if I'm up for it). The long tail handles more like a motorcycle (IMHO). Leaning more than turning.
  • Different - I'm not a real attention seeker, but it's novel to get more stares than usual. So far I'm enjoying it.

I'm not so sure about:
  • Weight distribution - ALL of the weight is in the back. I commute to work and have to drag my bike up a flight of stairs. I had a hard enough time getting it up the stairs without the x5 and 36 pounds of LiFePO4. I'm a bit nervous to even try. (I'm crossing my fingers that I'll be able to let the motor help climb the stairs, with all the weight back there it shouldn't slip.)