Need advice on what to do.

JR69

1 mW
Okay, I've read a lot of posts here and other places and seems like the best way to solve my problem is to replace the controller and display however, I'm new to this and never posted so I figured I'd ask the experts here.

I have a new 20in fat tire ebike, generic chinese brand but quality. It has a Bafang G062 750W motor, 48v/20ah battery, 22amp controller and NC-81f display. Out of the box, with the wheel off the ground it's give me 19mph. It does peak for a second at 21 but slows. I went into the menu and the top speed was set at 65. All of the other parameters seemed "normal", 48v, 22ah controller, 22inch wheels etc. I changed the wheel size and it was the same speed. Obviously, there is a speed limiter and I'm assuming it's the controller. The attached photo is basically what the controller looks like.

So back to the title of my post, should I just replace the controller? Is that is what is limiting the motor? I know a 22ah controller can do more than 19mph, so what gives?

Thanks all for any advice, thoughts.

Attachments

• s-l1600.jpg
    s-l1600.jpg
    39.7 KB · Views: 11
Is it exactly the same speed offground as when riding? If so, it's limited in the controller hardware from the factory. The display may let you set a speed limit but the controller disregards this due to the factory limit.

You'd probably have to replace the controlelr/display set with a new non-limited one to fix that.

If it is slower onground than off (usually by around 10-20%), then probably the motor is wound so that at the voltage of the system it's just not capable of going any faster. In a larger wheel it would go faster, proportionally, as long as the power required for that speed with the squishier higher-rolling-resistance tires is available, and the battery can supply that power without sagging in voltage (which will reduce the speed of the motor). .