Shadow e-bike

peterH

10 µW
I purchased a shadow e-bike from Daymak in March 2010 (and pre-paid at $1500 rather than the current $2000), and I've been waiting for delivery ever since! Daymak finally came through earlier this month - the bike was delivered through the Daymak representative in Halifax. It arrived in very good condition - not the greatest month to take delivery in Nova Scotia ...... but still. 'Ive ridden a few times and overall am impressed. I am an e-bike newbie so have little to compare against. Despite the solid wheel covers, the bike actually performed very well in a stiff cross wind on my first ride. The front wheel (that contains the LI-ion battery, motor etc) is the heaviest part of the bike). There are 3 things to charge on the bike - 1) the Li-ion main battery, accessed through a port in the front wheel 2) the controller/throttle located on the handlebar 3) the pedal-assist sensor located between the pedals. This is a bit of a pain since only one charger (for the controller and pedal assist) is provided - plus you need all those electrical outlets!
But here's the scoop on the ride. Generally very good. Climbed a 1 in 8 hill at a good rate with pedaling assistance. The throttle (on the handlebar) controller works effortlessly and the bike responds quickly and smoothly. Braking, however, is jerky and difficult to use. The Shadow employs a regenerative braking system that re-charges the battery when a red button on the controller is depressed. You really feel the 'drag' and the bike will come to a complete stop unless you release the button. This means that you have to 'pulse' the brakes causing the bike to jerk (it takes some getting used to!). Meanwhile the coaster brakes (backup) are adequate and often more convenient to use.