SHENGYI DGW07C Cable Replacement

Pointy

1 mW
I am not an expert, in fact when it comes to bikes, up until a couple of weeks ago I hadn't ridden a bike for 40+ years, let alone worked on one. I am however reasonably competent at electronics and DIY and a have a go hero when it comes to repairing things. As I couldn't find out much about this motor when searching I thought I would create this thread for others.

I recently acquired an Apollo Phaze eBike, that was only fours years old but the e part was not working, after checking the obvious things like connectors and cables I discovered the cable was damaged where it goes into the hub. I managed to repair the broken wires and the bike has been working fine while I waited for a new cable and the time to do it.

P1020749.JPG

The first job is to remove all nuts and washers, making a note of the order. As there are no screws holding the motor together you will need a special tool to open it. You can probably buy a proper tool or you can make something yourself such as this...

tool.jpg

The hole is 13mm and the bolts are M6 at about 42mm centers. It would be better to use something a little bigger and file or grind them to make them a better fit, but this did the job for me. NOTE. Unscrew the opposite side to the cable and it is a LEFT HAND thread.

Once the cover is removed you will see the gears...

cover off.jpg

The gears can be pulled off and I put mine in a plastic bag to keep them clean and also prevent the grease from making a mess. Note. Don't loose the washer.

gears.jpg

Also watch out for the detachable locking pin...

pin.jpg

Once the gears are off you should be able to pull the motor out...

gears off.jpg
motor out.jpg

After removing the yellow isolation/cover plate we can see how things are laid out.

motor 1.jpg

Simply slide back the sheathing and unsolder the old wires.

motor 2.jpg