Should I add a motor to this MTB bike frame or find another source?

banshee28

100 mW
Hi... So I have been down this road for a while now and been back and forth. This would be my first e-bike so really learning alot before proceeding. I read lots of great posts here so still trying to narrow down my best options.

So I have a 2018 Cannondale Trail 4 hardtail mtb. Its practically brand new and has hydraulic disk brakes, so I figured it would be a good choice for a e-bike upgrade. https://static.evanscycles.com/production/bikes/mountain-bikes/product-image/Original/cannondale-trail-4-2018-mountain-bike-blue-EV308176-5000-1.jpg

I debated between mid-drive and rear HUB and decided rear hub would be best for me since I am not really into very technical tails or have any steep hills where I live. However I noticed the rear drop outs for this particular bike seem a little odd to me (i am not an expert so maybe this is normal) that the rear dérailleur takes some of the space of the drop outs vs the frame! I posed over on reddit and got some really good and interesting advice that this does not sound like a good/safe setup for a rear HUB! So for the most part I think I will have to drop the rear hub motor option on this project!

https://www.reddit.com/r/ebikes/comments/hfwzer/rear_drop_out_question/?sort=new

My only other choice would be a mid drive. So each has its pros and cons and if this is the only setup I can get, then I am perfectly fine setting this up instead. I like many of the advantages of a mid drive too!

Questions: