Swing arm leaning trike

mcw0

1 µW
This is my first post here. I've always been fascinated with leaning trikes...specifically tadpoles. I've never seen one with swing arms. My idea in simple terms is to take 3 bike frames. 2 of the frames you cut off the back, aft of the seat post. The remaining frame you do the opposite, cut off everything forward of the seat post. Now you have a common pivot for all 3 frames at the crank. I started blocking out this idea and immediately ran into tire scrub as the unit leans. But I came up with a gear system that can adjust the distance of the swing arm pivots from centerline based on the angle of lean. Intuitively, this seems like it should work since friction would work against tire scrub so it shouldn't take much force to slide the swing arm pivot along a shaft.

I'm not an engineer. Just a hobbyist. Can someone more educated than I in mechanical engineering tell me why this idea won't work? I'm assuming this won't work because everyone else has gone with some system of control arms for the front. Please see my simple animation.

I can't attach mp4 files. :(

For a lean angle of 45 degrees, The swingarm pivots a little more than 10 degrees in my rough layout. And the swing arm pivots had to slide inboard a little over 7 inches along the rear axle. The slotted gear (in green) pushes the pin on the swing arm to locate the pivot. Obviously, there would be another set for the other side. This is just a very rough proof of concept. The front forks should account for any bumps in the road while the swing arms deal with the tilt. I'll have to figure out the steering (hopefully with ackerman).

trike1.PNG
trike2.PNG
trike3.PNG